It’s Like Way, Exestential*

Tuesday morning I dyed my hair.  There’s nothing particularly new in this.  It’s something I’ve done several times, thousands? hundreds?  Probably not. Dozens?  A dozen maybe.  It’s been probably four years though.

I even did a color that I’ve done multiple times.  I didn’t think looked very good. Too brassy, not natural, just… bleh. (And it’s not that I had a problem with the fact that it didn’t look natural, as you’ll see in a minute, it’s just that it didn’t look unnatural enough, you know?  I mean if you dye your hair pink or green or blue then it doesn’t look natural but that’s the point but if you dye it sort of a brassy red then it doesn’t look natural but it looks close enough that you could just be one of those women who don’t know that their hair doesn’t look natural and that my friends, is not a good look.)

I used to love this color, it used to look good.  (Well, I used to think that it looked good.  Those of you who were around four+ years ago and saw it and disagree can go ahead and keep your mouths shut and your opinions to yourselves.)

Anyway, between the not looking very good (despite the assurances that “no, it looks really good” and “it’s cute, I like it”  that I got from my coworkers) and the just general boredom, I thought about just shaving it all off, something I’ve thought about for years, I’ve just never had the guts to do it.  And I even had one person agree with me that I should. (Actually he told me that I should keep it long because I’m married and men like long hair so I should keep it long for my husband.  I told him that Sean didn’t really get a vote.  He thought that was pretty cold until I mentioned that I preferred Sean’s hair short and then showed him a picture of my loving husband, at which point he said “bic it”.)

But I didn’t.

Instead I just bleached half of it.

I’m wondering if I’m hitting some kind of existential midlife crisis (actually, I don’t really know what existential means but sometimes I just like to throw it out there) (and there’s the possibility that it’s not my midlife but well, bother me not with details ok?)  The point is that I’ve always gone with more or less natural hair colors, styles, whatever.  And now, not so much.

Now I’m like some kind of blond, redhead, funky, punk, goth chick.  Well, ok, no, not really.  But the hair’s a little crazy.

For a mormon mother of 4 anyway.

*50 points to the first person to get the movie quote.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sara
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 06:09:24

    I believe you are referring to Clueless (and Ren and Stimpy). It’s not fair to the other commenters that I have a 2 hour timezone advantage on everyone (since I’m already here at work trying to avoid doing aforementioned work).
    I would really like to hear about the encounters that you and the hubby would have with strangers if you did shave your head (and Sean with his long hair), especially in your part of the world. Just saying.

  2. LisAway
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 07:36:34

    HELLO!?! You CANNOT publish a post like this without a picture. You CANNOT.

    I have no idea about the quote but it sounds very Bill and Ted to me. And it sounds like you used the word right to me, but that may very well be because I don’t really know what it means either. (high five)

  3. Susan M
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 07:44:16

    Dying hair is fun. And yes, a picture is mandatory.

  4. bythelbs
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 07:46:26

    What LisAway said (that’s what I was thinking with the quote even). And also Susan.

  5. Melanie J
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 08:28:03

    Yes. Picture.

  6. Kristina
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 08:30:40

    I’m sure you look just like Gwen Stefani.

  7. smee
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 10:15:15

    Ok you outted your hubby time to out the new do! Photo op!

  8. Jami
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 13:50:34

    I love it when people have existential midlife crisises and do wild and crazy things. Please post a picture. I’m not good at visualizing existential stuff.

    I ponder cutting all my hair off from time to time, but (given that I am quite heavy and don’t wear makeup and live in California) people might make some erroneous assumptions about my sexual orientation.

  9. Catherine
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 14:39:32

    Of course it’s Clueless. And, I need a picture.

  10. Migillicutty
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 16:13:47

    I will reserve judgment until i see a picture. but i don’t know how to reserve judgment, so I NEED TO SEE A PICTURE OF YOUR NEW HAIR RIGHT NOW!!!

    the end

  11. Allison
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 16:20:10

    I’d like to see a picture!

    I stopped coloring my hair because of the almost natural, but not quite look. I am too vain to have people think I don’t know what I *really* look like, and way too cheap to have a really good salon do it for me. (vain + cheap = not a very good combination)

    Still, it’s only fair to post a picture after that post!! 🙂

  12. JIllybean
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 17:01:40

    I will agree that you need to post a picture, unless of course you didn’t really bleach half of it. Maybe you should cut bangs in the back of your head too and then you can look like Kate Gosselin.

    I once posted a picture of the animal that I looked like because of my hairstyle. (water buffalo)

    Seriously, post a picture.

  13. Annette
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 17:44:12

    Everyone already said what I would have. So, ditto. About four times.

  14. Melissa
    Jul 23, 2009 @ 18:02:35

    When I lose weight (that’s like saying, “when cows produce golden milk” because I swear it’s never going to happen -yet I hang onto the dream) I’m doing punk hair. TOTALLY. And then people at church can freak out all they want, because I too, am a Mormon mom of 4. That is the time to be punky, I swear. (I also swear that someday I’m going to lose weight, so you can just plan that golden milk too.)

Leave a comment