Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes

Or maybe it’s just more of the same.

My kids go back to school next week.  This isn’t so much of a change as it is a question “Where the heck did summer go?”  Yes my kids are on year-round (no, I don’t hate it.  I don’t love it but I don’t hate it.) but a three week summer break is patently ridiculous.    I don’t need three months like I got way back when I was a kid but three weeks?  Come on!

So the elder of the Wonderkids go back to school the end of July and then the middle of August my job’s changing.  The official word was a long time coming, more than a month, and for a while there I had given up, thinking that the job I wanted had been given to someone else but I found out the middle of last week that I got the job I had applied for.   (A job that my boss apparently wanted me to have badly enough that he wrote a proposal for corporate to change the position so that I could work it.)  So beginning the middle of August I get to drop one of my night shifts and my day shift (and pick up three more call shifts) which frees up my time such that I can go back to school too!

At the moment I’m registered for two classes but I may be adding a third after I have a little sit down with my academic adviser about which classes I actually have to take and if that goes well then there’s a very outside chance that I’d start the actual nursing program in May.  I’m not planning on that but I am at least headed somewhere rather than just waiting.  I hate waiting.

________________

It happened.  I’ve resisted for so long but I finally broke down and started tweeting.   (So I guess you can follow me here.)  I should have known that the tour would be my downfall.

Which brings me to:  bonne chance Alberto!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. melissa bastow
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 21:30:47

    Congrats on the job! And taking classes. And surviving the incredibly long 3 week summer vacation (yeah, that’s really short.)

  2. Melanie J
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 23:29:42

    Wow. I’m glad everything is lining up for you. That is muy cool.

  3. dollie
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 08:39:57

    hey congrats on the job and going back to school… that is great… I vote for 3 week long summer break..

  4. Susan M
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 09:15:22

    Nice! on the job and school thing.

    A three week summer break does sound a bit like a rip off.

  5. bythelbs
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 10:08:57

    You got the job! Yay! Registered for school! Double yay! No longer waiting! Triple yay!

    You deserve it.

    Now I’m wishing I’d watched the tour this year. And no, I can’t just start now in the middle. I’ll have to wait for next year.

  6. madhousewife
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 14:48:43

    Congratulations on the job and school!

    I’ve tried to do Twitter a couple times. I just can’t get into it. I think I’m too old.

  7. Julie
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 20:22:37

    We’re watching the Tour at our house, too. It’s great.

    Twitter…I have a Twitter account but I just can’t seem to get into it.

  8. smee
    Jul 22, 2009 @ 11:09:16

    to me, twitter and facebooks blurbs are pretty much the same thing…much like reality vtv for the masses and vaugue.

    S’mee is really ticked!!! (at who and why?)

    S’mee went to the doctors today and MAN OH MAN! (egads! the mind wanders!)

    S’mee wins!!! (again, details please! I want to be supportive, but I can’t keep guessing!)

    S’mee says there is another attack in Eastern Europe we should be concerned about –>EU.confusing-addressthatyou/needtofollow+link.com (now I feel guilty about people and things I really can’t control)

    I’m old school and so outta da loop.

Leave a Reply

