The End is Near

I hope you have your food storage in order because you’re going to need it.  Soon. 

How soon? You ask.

Well, no one knows the day or the hour but I’ve been watching the signs and I’d say you’d better make sure you have enough Morning Moo for the family within the next few days, a week at the most.

How do I know? Well, let me tell you.

I went hiking today. And if that’s not a sign of the end of days I don’t know what is.

For those of you who don’t know me very well or who haven’t known me for more than a year, let me ‘splain.  I’m not really what you would call the outdoorsy type.  I was raised with the belief that mankind had been through thousands of years of technological advances so that I wouldn’t have to sleep on the ground, or share my meals with the flies or *ahem* cook over an open flame (my father was resistant even to grilling) and so that I could have things like indoor plumbing and computers.  And that’s a belief that I proudly held for years.

Until this year when I made a resolution to take my family, my kids specifically, on some kind of vacation this year.  To begin with I was thinking Disney and then I looked up prices for Disney.  So then I was thinking … I don’t know, something else but well, frankly I couldn’t afford that either.  You know what I could afford?  Camping.  So I took a deep breath; got off my high horse (figuratively as I’ve never actually ridden a horse) and took the kids camping.  We’ve been twice and with the notable exception of the lantern attack it’s gone really well.  Well enough that we were planning on going again this weekend, to a campground that’s far(ish) away, for two nights.  This is serious commitment people!

Unfortunately, the Infantile Delinquent choose Wednesday night to spend puking and Thursday to be feverish and snuggly (which is semi-delightful for a mom but mostly really sad.) Not to be outdone, The Baby spent the majority of Thursday night screaming and  when Sean broke down and took him in to the ER (at about 2:30 this morning) we discovered that he had two enormous ulcers running down his throat (apparently this is somewhat common and not a sign of anything other than a lot of pain for the next few days).  We got him some meds and his pain seems to be fairly well managed but there wass no way I was taking him camping, especially not someplace far(ish) from home, with something like that going on.

So camping’s out at least for tonight, but my kids have just been sitting around the house for three weeks.  And while that’s really short for a summer break (as previously discussed) it’s plenty of time for the intake of Suite Life on Deck to reach critical levels.  I had to get them out of the house.  I had to get out of the house.  And because Sean hasn’t been paid in about a month (and because I’m cheap and we had already paid for a campsite that we’re not using) it had to be something free.

Walking’s free.

So I took my two oldest kids and we hiked.  We did the Silver Lake loop and just like the reviews I read, it was steep (and that sucked) but actually, it wasn’t too bad.  The kids whined a fair amount and they were each reduced to tears at least once, but I figure that’s about par for the course.  It’s four(ish) miles and we did it in a little under three hours and no one died or even ended up very seriously maimed.  So altogether I’m calling it a win.

But seriously, if I were you I’d make sure I had my affairs in order.  Just in case.

________________________________________

Since you asked:

102_1171 If you look close you can see the cut from the lantern-> 102_1170102_1168 Poor sick Baby 102_1177

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Migillcutty
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 20:48:37

    Ha, ha, ha, I’m the first one to comment! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Give the Princess my love and respect for finishing that hike! And BTW, I love your expression in that picture! And your hair is not bad at all.

  2. Migillcutty
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 20:51:24

    Go check out what I wrote about you on my blog. You’re gonna love me! 🙂

  3. E
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 21:25:25

    How does my daughter know how to do things like insert smiley faces?

    LOVE the first picture!

    I want to hike!

  4. cheryl
    Jul 24, 2009 @ 21:32:31

    Dude. When this kid gets outta me, and I heal, and so maybe next year, what with impending snow come October/November, although if there is not snow we could do it sooner –(inhale) –we’re going hiking.

    What’s good is that hiking with me equates slowness. I love it, I want to do it all the time, but I’m remarkably and annoyingly slow. I blame the asthma. And my legs. But I still do it! You’re gonna become just like me, you know. Hiking’s addictive, man…

  5. bythelbs
    Jul 25, 2009 @ 15:40:27

    Oh no, hope the baby feels better soon!

    I admire your determination to…do something. And the follow through! Such follow through! I think about the doing something, even semi-seriously, but the follow through is somewhat lacking.

    I still don’t think the hair’s so crazy, but maybe the pictures just aren’t doing it justice.

  6. Susan M
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 10:17:03

    I love the hair! I wish I could do my hair the way you do yours.

    I love that hiking is actually just walking but when you call it hiking it suddenly takes on a whole new level of impressiveness. I love to hike.

  7. madhousewife
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 07:40:06

    Sorry, sick baby. 😦

    Also sorry to hear about the apocalypse. I’m really not up for that.

Leave a Reply

