What Was That? I Can’t Hear You.

The InfaDel was up at about 1am last night with a cough, I let him come to bed with us (I know, shut up) but he spent the next hour coughing such that I couldn’t sleep at all. So we got up, the Infadel and I,  I gave him some nyquil (I know, shut up) put on “How to Train Your Dragon” and we hunkered down on the couch. I believe that if you do nothing “How to Train Your Dragon” will play itself over and over and over again. All night.

Also my couch is hugely uncomfortable.

I’ve lost my voice. It’s always a very strange experience when you say something but somehow nothing actually comes out of your mouth.  Hopefully my children will behave because I am incapable of yelling at them. (Some people would say that now would be a good time to learn new coping mechanisms but I say “give me a break, I spent the night on the couch”.)

I was going to try to get some real cleaning done today but I spent the night on the couch so I just don’t think that’s going to happen.  Instead I think I’m going to spend the day on the couch as well.

If I had known how effectively the self cleaning feature on my oven warms up the main floor of my house I would have spent the winter with a much cleaner oven.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythelbs
    May 26, 2011 @ 16:14:00

    I spent the entire morning on the couch without the excuse of the night before on the couch, so I say you’re entitled. And obviously whatever I say is gospel.

    I hope tonight is more restful.

  2. LisAway
    May 27, 2011 @ 00:34:35

    You are a much nicer mother than me. I go in the room, stroke their poor little cheeks and foreheads, give them some cough medicine and then go back to bed and try to ignore the coughing ever after. If it’s terrible I will take them a cup of water. But mostly they only see me for a second while I give them medicine.

  3. susan jones
    May 27, 2011 @ 18:15:20

    The bathroom floor is even more uncomfortable than the couch.

  4. Melanie Jacobson
    May 28, 2011 @ 08:24:05

    Nyquil is just good parenting.

Leave a Reply

