Those Dang Brits! *Well ok, it’s really the Irish but…

No, I’m not posting about the royal wedding, I didn’t watch the wedding, I know nothing about the wedding.  I’m going to go a different direction. I’m going with death*.

Well, not really.

I’m actually going to tell you about “Skulduggery Pleasant” which is the title of a book and of a series of books and also happens to be the name of one of the characters in the book and the series of books, although, oddly enough, not really the main character.  That would be Stephanie Edgley.  Or Valkyrie Cain. Or…

What it all comes down to is that they’re charming books and you should all rush right out and buy them (yes, buy them, don’t just rent them from the library, I need you to increase the sales in the US so that they’re easier to get.  We sent a gal to England to get the last two books for us but she says that she probably won’t be going again and there are two more books to come and…)

The point is that they’re good, funny and interesting and if you’re into audiobooks you should definitely do these in audio because they’re set in Ireland and they’re read by an Irish (I assume) guy and that accent is just so fantastic that I might cry for you if you miss it.

So there you have it, Skulduggery Pleasant.  Get on it.

*Skulduggery also happens to be dead (see the skeleton) so see, death.  I wasn’t kidding.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. madhousewife
    May 11, 2011 @ 10:39:04

    Noted! (How can I resist a name like Skullduggery Pleasant, anyway?)

  2. E
    May 11, 2011 @ 12:27:07

    I’m picking it up tonight.

  3. E
    May 11, 2011 @ 12:27:45

    Sorry, I’m not buying, however. We don’t buy books.

  4. Chris Jones
    May 11, 2011 @ 14:03:36

    You don’t buy books? What? Is this some religious thing?

    We buy books in bulk. So I’ll be buying these.

  5. Migillicutty
    May 11, 2011 @ 17:59:56

    That crazy lady who thinks it’s wrong to buy books? I’m not related to her. In fact I don’t even know her.

  6. Jabe
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:06:21

    Do I get partial credit for obeying part of your commands? I have been forbidden to buy any more books (except in the rarest of circumstances, and I don’t think this qualifies), but I did put a library hold on the audiobook version the moment I finished reading the post. I still prefer reading to audiobooks, but I know I’m going to be in my car for close to an hour every day. The rest is up in the air.

Leave a Reply

