A Post Far Too Long For the Pointless Point I’m Trying to Get Across

For six years, from the age of 12, when my older brother left for college, until the age of 18 when I left for college, I got up every morning at 4:00.  Or maybe it was 4:30.  It might have been 5:00 in the summers.  Shoot, that was a long time ago, I can’t remember.  The point is that I was getting up at dawn’s tramp stamp (because it was just a little before the crack…).  And not only getting up but getting up to deliver newspapers.  Newspapers that had to be placed on doorsteps, none of this end of the driveway crap for us (I can’t remember if that was the Washington Post’s rule or our distributor’s rule or my parents rule but the fact remains that that was the rule (keep your shirt on, I’m getting to the point.) and I’ve always been more or less of a rule follower so I followed it.) which meant that I spent many hours of my formative years wandering around in the out of doors at the crack of dawn (and before) in all kinds of weather (Speaking of all kinds of weather, I remember the year of the storms that they made that movie “the Perfect Storm” about and while I was not swordfishing off the east coast through that series of storms I was living in Virginia which is on the east coast and I was delivering newspapers in snow up to my hips and I was doing it even though the US postal service had opted to not deliver mail.  Through rain and snow and dark of night… my left foot…) and in all seasons.

That’s what I’ve been trying to get to, the “all seasons” part.

Yesterday I had to be to work by 6:30 which meant that at 6:00 (a time affectionately known as dawn’s dimple) I was walking from my house to my car.  It was chilly, it was a bit windy, but I found as I put the key into the lock on the drivers door I looked up and one thought passed through my mind, “spring”.  There was something in the quality of the air, the way it felt and sounded that told me very clearly it’s spring.

Today it’s sunny, beautiful and 65 degrees.  Now I’m not saying that it won’t snow again this season, I’m not saying that I won’t spend a little more time cursing the cold before I start cursing the heat, I’m just saying that it’s spring.

And I’m not saying that I caused it, I’m just saying I was there when it happened.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie Jacobson
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 19:30:53

    “Because it was just a little before the crack.” Hahahahaha!

  2. bythelbs
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 10:45:00

    I had no idea there were so many ways to say “too freaking early in the morning”.

    Lovely post.

    Also, as someone who has recently gone from having their paper delivered to their doorstep to having their paper delivered ANYWHERE on the driveway, I want to commend you for your high standards of paper delivery excellence.

  3. Flipflopmama
    Mar 11, 2011 @ 16:02:31

    “dawn’s tramp stamp”. I am so using that.

Leave a Reply

