Drive It Like You Stole It

The coolest person in the world sent me this book.

I read it yesterday.

Yes, the whole thing. I had to occupy myself somehow between the commercials (actually I didn’t even watch the commercials, I don’t care that much.)

It was good, quite good. It made me want to write.

Something that I keep telling myself that I don’t really want to do, something that I can’t do. But then I think maybe, between when I’m done dicing tomatoes and when the quinoa is ready I can get a few minutes of writing in. Other people do it. Lots of people have told me how they did it (and by told me, I mean written it on their blogs or something… I know I’ve heard that anyway) I could do that too, right?

Sort of, but ultimately, nope.

I could write a book that way but I can’t make one up that way. In order to make up a story I have to have the characters walk around in my head for a while and in order for them to walk around they need a little space. And unfortunately for Emery and Jack and Justin and the whole gang, all space in my head is currently being taken up by bacteria with lophtrochus flagella and standard deviations, there’s just not any extra to spare.

I could probably write in snatches but I can’t plot in snatches. To really plot I’d have to let Jane and her enormous dog wander around in my head at the very least, while I did the mindless things like washing dishes or making dinner. But even that time is currently taken up by a mental review of the electron transport chain.

The thing is that, as much as I like to think I am good at multitasking, I am not good at multitasking. I am spectacular at prioritizing. (By that I mean that I’m really good at establishing an order and going through my tasks in that order, not that I always put my life in the correct order.) And at the moment right trending plot lines and the intererptide bridges of peptidoglycan cell walls have priority over Emery glowering at Jack while the female med student giggles up at him in an adoring way.

Most of the time I don’t mind it, really I don’t. I find the synthesis of bacterial spores surprisingly interesting (scatter plots not quite so much) I LOVE learning new things, I love the possibilities that I have before me. It’s just when I read a book with well written interesting characters that I’m a little sad that, while I may become the next Dr. Quinn, medicine woman, or that with all this microbiology and organic chemistry and statistics under my belt I may single handedly cure cancer, those possible futures don’t also include best selling author.

Not for a while at least.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 03:12:47

    Your day will come. . .

  2. cheryl
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 06:52:40

    I feel the same way. But where is my excuse? You’re not just mom, wife, school-goer; you work, and you work hard/well. Sometimes I think I just don’t want it bad enough. And I am probably right.

    Lisa’s right. Your time will come, though. I mean, it’s not like you’ve already written two books are anything, right? It’s the “getting them published” that takes the most work.

  3. madhousewife
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:21:09

    What Cheryl said. These things take time. Especially when you’re curing cancer. (Which I’m totally expecting you to do, by the way. No pressure.)

  4. bythelbs
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 14:19:45

    I quite enjoyed that book myself.

    I’m looking forward to the day you’re writing again. You’re good at it.

    Novel writing, that is. Look at you, all getting your blog roll on. Mr. Statham is a welcome addition as well.

  5. Sara H.
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 22:48:08

    You are a very talented writer, and I hope to buy at least one of your books one day. I read the first nine chapters of your book (back when I was an extra busy full-time working / full-time mother), and you gave those characters life. The time will come.

Leave a Reply

