The Dangers of Reading Aloud

I find it problematic when reading aloud that the description of how something is said comes after the words that were said.  I find myself reading lines in a loud voice only to find that that line was said in a whisper.  It bothers me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. madhousewife
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 11:34:42

    Whenever there’s an exclamation point at the end of a sentence, my daughter wants me to “say it loud.” I can never say it loud enough for her taste. Unless I’m angry, I’m just not a loud person.

  2. bythelbs
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 17:27:37

    I have the same problem. I am also bothered by it. I find myself repeating lines to get the expression right, which just doesn’t make for good story-telling.

  3. Jabe
    Jan 31, 2011 @ 19:28:07

    I listen to a lot of audiobooks, and I often think, when they get the intonation right (which is most of the time), that they must have read it in advance, because you almost always find out how it was said after the fact…

  4. flipflopmama
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 08:43:26

    Same here. I hate it when I mess up.

  5. Melanie Jacobson
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 21:45:03

    This is one of the few arguments in favor of reading the same bedtime stories every.single.night.

  6. E
    Feb 04, 2011 @ 14:33:55

    I am also bothered by the companion problem- when you find out that the line wasn’t said by the person you though was speaking and so you used the wrong voice altogether.

Leave a Reply

