I’m Just Sucker With No Self Esteem

A few thoughts:

I got an email today from one of my friends at work who’s also sort of my boss (it’s complicated).  He sent it to me and another guy who had been having an email discussion about something that didn’t get done by the people that it should have and… anyway it was pretty dumb and it was something that I was done with.  The email that I got this morning was telling us to drop it.  It wasn’t aggressively worded or unkind.  And yet, I feel like a puppy who’s been slapped. I find myself wanting to send an email saying “I was done with it anyways so nanny nanny nanny” or ” maybe just pointing to the other guy and saying “he started it” or… I don’t know, it’s dumb and I’m over it.  (But I did think it was funny how I initially reacted.)

I was reading some of Elizabeth Smart’s testimony in court yesterday (holy crow, the crap that girl had to go through…) there was a statement in there that through the whole thing she always knew that there were people who loved her and that she was a person of worth.  Say what you want about the Smarts but they had them some crazy effective family home evenings in their home.

Lately the Princess has been very sweet, kind and mostly reasonable.  Now I know that kids go back and forth between testing boundaries (and just generally driving their parents nuts) and living comfortably within those boundaries so this turn of events may be totally organic but I can’t help but give at least some of the credit to her current best friend Katie.  It’s not that Katie is some amazing perfect child, I occasionally find her to be very annoying and an insufferable know it all, but she does have one thing going for her.  She’s one of those kids who’s perfectly happy being who she is, and more importantly I think for little girls, being the age that she is.  Before this the Princess was spending a lot of time with a girl who was  a year older than her and who herself wanted to be older than she was.  I think that just makes for a lot of angst.  But when you accept where you are and just have fun with it it makes you a much more pleasant person.  (There might be a life lesson there…)

Happy Wednesday Everyone.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 09:29:07

    I would reply to the email with, “Your face is dumb.” Super maturely.

  2. bythelbs
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 10:51:59

    I hate the feeling of being chastized, even if it is kindly and non-aggressively worded. Even more, I hate the feeling of wanting to explain myself, but knowing I can’t/shouldn’t. So, boo. But you’re over it now.

    Friends can make such a huge difference. My daughter that’s Princesses age recently moved on from some unhealthy friendships and it has made all the difference in the world.

    Also, I just love you. Happy Wednesday!

  3. Flipflopmama
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 11:56:04

    Happy Wednesday to you too! glad your daughter has been pleasant. It sure makes life a little happier. You’re brave to read Elizabeth’s testimony. I don’t think I could. Those kinds of things affect me too much.

  4. Chris Jones
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 13:47:16

    I can’t tell you how much it makes your life better to work with positive people, to hang with people that really get how life works. Mostly, these days, I get to hang with me, and I am not always one of those people.

    My kids have chosen good friends, at some urging from us, and that also makes a huge difference to them. But looking at our children, we’ve done everything we can to help them understand that they are loved and valuable. And some of them get it. But some of them don’t. I’d have to pray that Mira gets captured, and not Charlotte, for instance.

    How did you go from feeling like a whipped puppy to talking about Elizabeth Smart? That was amazing.

  5. Melanie Jacobson
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 22:34:47

    I sure hope my little girl finds a friend like that. Or even better, can be a friend like that.

Leave a Reply

