When I Grow Up I Want to be a…

I recently read a blog post that talked about not being afraid of your dreams and about deciding where you want to be and then working towards that goal and following your dreams and all that hooey.

No, it’s not hooey.  It’s important and it’s true and it can work.

The problem is that you have to decide where you want to be.  I have trouble with that.

When I started this blog I wanted to be a writer.  I had written a novel and I was working(ish) on getting representation for it so that I could get it published and begin living the life if a world famous, best selling author (whatever that is) but… well maybe, probably I just didn’t focus on that goal like I should have but the little people around here needed to eat and one thing and another and I put the famous author thing on hold so that I could go back to school.

So now here I am trying to get into nursing school and I’d love, as soon as I’m done to go on and do an MSN program and then maybe go on to be a nurse practitioner.  I’d love that (I think) and I’d be good at it (I think) and so that’s my current goal.  BUT well, I know myself too well.  Odds are that before I get there I’ll decide that there’s something else that I want to do.  Maybe I’ll go back to writing or maybe I’ll take an entirely different and completely unexpected direction. After all, if you had told me 10 years ago that I’d be doing nursing I never would have believed it, I had NO interest in healthcare.  And yet here I am.

That’s all I have to say, no great over arching lesson, no conclusion even.

I believe that I can achieve my dreams, I just have trouble figuring out what my dreams are.

So what do you want to be when you grow up (as of right now)?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 08:43:03

    I think our dreams can definitely change over time.

  2. bythelbs
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 14:22:58

    I have no dreams. Other than getting a house with one more bedroom.

  3. Flip flop mama
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 11:40:09

    Yeah I think like Kristina, my dreams change. Right now it’s learning how to use my camera better. It’s been a lot of other things in the past though!

Leave a Reply

