Stuff You Should Love

The year for Christmas (yes, I’m mentioning Christmas before we’re even past Halloween) the adults in my family are giving each other something we love.  Here’s my sister’s description of the plan:

Everyone brings enough of their favorite thing to give everyone one. It could be chap stick or gum or pens or notepads or whatever. Just something little, or big, if you are really rich, that you love. So everyone takes home 9 things. (Mom and Dad and Aunt Kay are included so that makes 9 right?) If you want to bring one thing from you and one from your spouse then it will be more than 9 but whatever you want to do will be great. Brian and I are doing two things and it sounds like Cat and Scott are as well so whatever works. This is very unofficial but I think it is amazing what you can learn about people from this and its fun to take home things you wouldn’t normally think to buy. There really is no wrong thing here Al. Nobody is gonna hate whatever it is you bring.

Most of you don’t know any of the people mentioned there but you get the idea right (yes, the Al referred to is me, I maintain that I can come up with something that I love that Cat will love and something that I love that Brian will love but that those things are not necessarily the same thing).

However, I’ll keep thinking about it and no doubt, come up with something brilliant.

In the meantime I thought I’d tell you about something I’m loving lately.

About a month ago I downloaded my first podcast (yeah, I know, very very behind the times) my first (through fifth) podcast(s) was (were) LDS General Conference and may I say that I highly recommend.  Reading through the talks again is great and I’m doing that too (how much do I LOVE the church’s use of technology?  So very very much!) but I really like listenting to the talks spoken as well, there’s a different spirit there.

But that’s not what I was going to tell you about.  I was going to tell you about stuff you should know.  Or more accurately ‘Stuff You Should Know”.

For those of you not aware of this show it’s a podcast, usually two guys, Josh and Chuck, and they just talk, appropriately enough, about stuff you should know.  Just all kinds of random interesting stuff.  Listening to this show I’ve learned about pirates and mercenaries, about how organ donation works (I already knew that but their take on it was interesting) and about the Vikings.  And I’m all set to learn a lot more, I’ve got “how mirrors work” and “how tone deafness works” all queued up.

And there are tons of them.  I guarantee that you can find something that will tickle your fancy as well.

In addition to being interesting these guys have a fun interesting rapport that’s pretty fun to listen to.

It turns out that the podcast is just an offshoot of a whole website about “how stuff works”  where there are articles and blogs and podcasts and … well, just about everything you could want.

And that my friends is my gift to you.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 19:22:10

    My husband would love that! Thanks

  2. Flip flop mama
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 11:36:16

    Do you know I don’t even know how to download podcasts? I never have–and I’ve had an iPhone for three years. This one looks cool though! Maybe I’ll have to figure it out!

Leave a Reply

