Of Course There’s an App For That

I’m writing this post from the wordpress app on my iTouch because, of course, there’s an app for that. I also have an app that let’s me play scrabble with my friends (two as a matter of fact). And one that let’s me text (and make phone calls apparently). I have an app that makes the vuvuzela noise that was all the rage during the world cup (and that I intended to remove I just haven’t gotten around to that yet).

I have an app that tells me to exercise, or at least lays out workouts for me. And another where I keep my shopping lists.

I find that there’s a hierarchy to my apps. My favorites, facebook, scrabble, email, my contacts and my indispensable datebook not to mention the IMDb app (how did I ever make it through any TV shows or movies before I had the IMDb app?) all live on the first page of my touch. There’s also a hierarchy associated with the importance that I think my apps should be given even if they’re not. For example, I have both my scripture and my LDS study materials (scriptures plus the latest conference talks and the relief society/priesthood book and the SS student manual) apps on the front page. I don’t open either one except at church and there it’s pretty much always the study materials (I bring my scriptures but somehow can’t manage to bring my RS book) but I just don’t feel right about either erasing or even relegating the scriptures. (As if the Lord’s going to check my iPod to determine my spiritual status.)

Less interesting or at least less frequently used apps are on the second page. That’s where you’ll fund the link to the app store (oddly enough) and the Jillian Micheals app (I’m not sure I love it although I used it for my workout Monday and boy howdy was I sore on Tuesday!) and the mapmyrun app (worthless on the touch, probably great on the phone).

And then there’s the third page. Talk about losers. I relegated the stocks app (that I can’t figure out how to get rid of) to the back as soon as I got my touch (and realized that I couldn’t delete that one). I’ve got the pocket vuvuzela on there and some drawing app that I only downloaded in a vain attempt to find something to distract the Pea while he was getting stitches.

And then there’s the Holy Grail of app placement, the bottom row. The row that appears on every page. On the bottom row I have my music, photos, pandora and… hmmmm, I can’t remember what the 4th one is. Which is a fairly conclusive indicator that it ought not to be there and yet…

The hierarchy isn’t absolute. I have a few apps, netflix for example, that by rights should be in the first page (because seriously, I can watch any of their watch instantly shows instantly on my itouch. Hello Friday Night Lights.) But what do I take off there? I could move the calculator or the sudoku, I don’t use either one all that often but moving an app presents a whole new set if problems. Suddenly I can’t find things where they should be, everything looks a little but wrong and nothing’s quite how it should be. New placement takes a lot of getting used to. And so the sudoku’s cushy placement is maintained (bottom row, inside left) despite the fact that haven’t sudokued for quite some time.

What’s scary to me is how dependent I’ve become. I mean it when I say that that I can’t make it through a dhow without my IMDb. The fact that I couldn’t quite place dr. Chang from this week’s episode of House (Lane from Gilmore Girls) world have driven me crazy. But in the plus side at least my addiction is cheap, I (almost) never pay for apps. But I am always looking for more.

So what are your favorite apps? What apps could you not live without?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 02:38:23

    My holy grail apps (on my iPhone, which doesn’t function as a phone because we decided not to jailbreak it after bringing it from America) are camera, facebook, email and safari. While I nurse I waste time playing a scramble game, like boggle (by myself, I don’t ever play anyone online). I used to waste time playing mine sweeper and before that it was FloodIt, which I loved and before that it was some bubble popping game. I know, I’m lame.

    Each of my kids have their own file (or two) of games. I use voice memos all the time to record the kids being cute. And I love that I can use skype on my non-phone iPhone and it’s just like calling from a phone instead of sitting at the computer, which I used to hate (really, if I’m going to be chatting with my sisters I need to be cooking or tidying or something. Okay, not always.

    I also love my IMDb app. So glad I discovered it. Before my iPhone I opened my computer during movies all the time to get info. Then I searched for the website on my phone, then they finally told me about the app. I love the app. (I’m a heavy reader of reviews for things like movies and recipes)

    Also, I really need to get the paid allrecipes app because I use the site on my computer all the time and the free Dinner Spinner app is mostly lame but it’s dumb to go from the kitchen to the computer while I’m cooking or emailing myself a link all the time to open on my phone.

    Yada, yada, yada. You’re welcome. (that I finally stopped, I mean)

  2. Julie
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 05:39:56

    My lds apps? totally on the second page. 😉

    Have you seen the new lds tools one? Stake directory, all pretty-like. Free!

  3. Kristina P.
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 08:06:03

    I feel like I’m missing out with the apps. I really only use my Ask The Hoff app. Although, is there really anything else after that?

  4. Chris Jones
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 08:48:11

    I have practically no apps, which on the iPhone means I have three full pages and a couple bleed-overs. Some I can’t delete and would love to, but most of them are ones I use all the time.

    I find, though, that if my kids have my phone for a couple hours, I’ve got another sixteen apps that my KIDS can’t live without, but I can’t see any use for. When I teach a dating class, I used to tell kids to start a conversation by asking about the presets on the radio in the car. Now I tell them to talk about the first page of apps on the phone. It’s a no-fail conversation-starter.

  5. Flip flop mama
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 10:38:43

    I utilize the folders like A LOT. I have my main ones the contacts, calendar, text messages, maps notes, grocery list clock and settings plus two folders of MY games on my front page. There are only 12 instead of 16 but I like it that way. On the bottom are three folders: the first one has all the stuff I go to all the time–FAcebook, email, phone, safari and a few others. The middle one is all music and video apps and the third one (Yes I only have three) is my LDS one. on the second page are most of the crap that I can’t delete and my kids games and a Books and Movies folder. Hello imdb app! LOVE it! My Netflix is in that folder too. Those are wonderful. I hear you on the hierarchy. There are some things I would like on my first page, but I really like only having 12 apps and if I move my clock app–which I use the timer on quite a bit, then it just screws things up. Lately I’ve been addicted to Angry Birds like the rest of the world. It is pretty dang fun though. Sometimes I’ll do a crossword puzzle, play sudoku or solitaire. Gotta love my iphone.

  6. evitafjord
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 13:51:30

    I only use one app on my husband’s droid – Mario Bros Memory. Now that’s a game that was made for a touch screen.

  7. bythelbs
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 11:33:39

    I am appless. 😦

  8. Motherboard
    Oct 22, 2010 @ 13:40:34

    I have an APP addiction.

    There is an App that you can talk to and then it talks back to you as a high pitched chipmunk–which is on the 2nd page– and Netflix? Totally a front page App!

Leave a Reply

