I Think I’d Better Think it Out Again

I finished all the pre-reqs for the nursing program at the local community college last May.  I did that primarily because IHC, the company that I work for, runs a nursing program through SLCC, the community college, which would allow me to go to school for free only requiring that I work full time for them for 2 years.  Something that I would have wanted to do anyway.

But I didn’t get into the program.

Well, no matter I thought (after taking a minute to get over my disappointment) I’ll get onto the waiting list at SLCC and IHC will probably run another program soon.  I got onto the waiting list.  I am guaranteed a slot by spring 2015. And IHC has put their program on hold, indefinitely.

*As an aside let me mention that I decided to go back to school so that I could feed my boys when they’re teenagers and that at the rate I’m going I’ll finally get started about the same time that I get the (not so) Baby off to college.

I have some other options.  There are various schools, from trade schools to Universities, that have nursing programs.  I thought about it, I did a little research, I considered.  But the fact of the matter was that I still have 2 kids at home most of the time, I can’t start a program that will dictate when I must take classes.  So, very uncharacteristically for me, I decided to be fine with waiting.

The 2015 date was, after all, based on everyone above me on the list doing SLCC’s program, which wouldn’t happen. Most people aren’t as patient as I am.  So it’s really more like 2013.  Which just happens to be the year that the (not so) Baby starts kindergarten.  See, this was going to work out just fine, I was going to wait, Sean was thinking about taking a few classes, I had some more that I could take that would set me up to just carry on after finishing the program and get my bachelors.  I had it all worked out and I was happy with my plan.

Which is, of course, why I got the letter that I did Saturday.

The letter I got Saturday was from SLCC.  They’ve had a lot of people jump the list to do other programs other places and a bunch more people who are on the list but not quite ready (there are pre-reqs to get on the list and then other things that you just have to do before you actually start but IHC required them all to even apply so I had done them all) and they are looking for people who are ready to start in January.

How do I not apply?

I don’t. (Not apply that is.  Meaning that I do apply.)

So here I am again, after having completely come to terms with not starting and honestly feeling good about that, I’m back in limbo.  Those who are ready will be accepted in the order that they appear on the waiting list and I’m pretty far down so I’m still not likely to start in January but just the possibility is … distracting.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 08:03:11

    I was going to say that 2015 isn’t too far away, but since the earth is ending in 2o12 anyway, I guess it doesn’t really matter.

  2. Annette
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 09:36:34

    Limbo is no fun. But I’m hoping you can start in January!

  3. bythelbs
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 15:41:32

    Well, it’s always good to have options, right? I always find things happen just when I’ve finally accepted that they won’t. Well, not ALWAYS (still not a size 4!), but often.

  4. LisAway
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 21:48:11

    Ain’t that always the way. It’s called the roller coaster of life. You wish for a hill and one doesn’t come. You start realizing you prefer the flat ride and — look at that! — Here comes a hill. What an adventure. Of course you’ll let us know if you’re headed up or if the hill ends up being farther down the tracks.

  5. flip flop mama
    Oct 18, 2010 @ 22:05:04

    Yeah it always seems like once I get to a point of acceptance that something isn’t going to happen, it does. Well I hope that things work out for the best with whatever happens! By the way, I have a cousin going through the nursing program at SLCC.

  6. Melanie Jacobson
    Oct 21, 2010 @ 17:57:02

    Good things come to those who wait. But Kristina makes a good point.

Leave a Reply

