Hey Boo-boo

I do all kinds of workouts.  Two days a week I try to do some kind of strength training and the other two days that I work out I do cardio.  Monday was a strength training day.  Usually I do some kind of  Jillian Michaels or something like that but every once in awhile I do Yoga.

Monday was one of those days.  Now I know that yoga is supposed to be this spiritual, cleansing experience.  You’re supposed to center yourself and breathe deeply and focus on your energies and chi and a lot of other new agey stuff that I tend to be really dismissive of (except that I secretly sort of believe some of it).  Basically it’s supposed to feel kind of like this:

And I guess for some people, doing yoga alone on a beach at sunrise or something, that is how it feels.

But I do yoga in my living room with my kids and their friends running through and my two year old yelling at me that he hates me and well, my yoga experience feels a little more like this:

I think I may be missing something there.  Today I go back to squats and lunges.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 09:59:38

    I hope you do Denise Austin’s workouts. She says things like, “It’s skinny in here!”

  2. LisAway
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 23:56:41

    That’s why I don’t do yoga. (the only reason, I swear!)

  3. Melissa
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 21:57:17

    Yoga just makes me fall over. But I’m pretty sure I’m missing a whole lot of somethings there.

  4. chelsey
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 07:24:07

    Elizabeth sent me to this post of yours. She was right to send me to it. I’m with you on how you feel when you’re doing yoga. And doesn’t it seem like it’s always the hardest and most painful pose that your children start screaming and fighting with each other? I don’t know that I’ve ever felt that calming feeling from Yoga. Maybe when I’m at the end and I’m in the fetus pose or the corpse pose…

Leave a Reply

