I’d Like to Thank the Academy

You know how you watch the awards shows and the people who won and are giving their acceptance speeches always say that they never even dreamed that they’d win?

That’s crap.

They may not have planned on winning, they may not have believed that they’d win, they may not have written a speech, I can absolutely believe that but of course they dreamed that they’d win!  How do you not dream that you’ll win?  How do you not imagine the whole scene?  Heck, I’ve imagined that I’ve won and I’ve never been nominated.

Seriously, I’ve rehearsed for my interview with Jay Leno, I know exactly how charming and witty I’ll be with Dave Letterman, and don’t even get me started on my segment with Jon Stewart, legendary.  (I really think that I’ll be famous enough that I don’t really have to go through the whole Conan O’Brian, Jimmy Kimmel, Late late late late show embarrassment, don’t you?)

But seriously, who among us has not imagined winning?

This girl has.  And can I just say that even if I hadn’t already been a huge fan that post would have won me over.  Seriously, who does that? (Everyone.)  Who admits it? (Not me.)

And now if you’ll excuse me I have to work on my acceptance speech.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 09:09:45

    Conan is my dream gig.

  2. Kristina P.
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 09:10:46

    I try to practice being shocked and humbled when I inevitably win.

  3. LisAway
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 10:14:01

    HA! From the beginning of your post I started planning my comment asking if you’d read that post of Melanie’s yet. I LOVE THAT POST!! I’ve actually been considering blogging about it, too. SO funny. Melanie is awesome.

  4. bythelbs
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 13:18:26

    Oh, I do it. (#7 random thing)

  5. Melanie Jacobson
    Oct 11, 2010 @ 22:17:34

    Suh-weet!

  6. melissabastow
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 21:12:02

    When you say “dream” do you mean “day dream” or like “dream dream”…at night? ‘Cause I day dream about ALL sorts of stuff. But at night, those dreams usually involve things like sock eating wolves, and hellicopters made out of jello, and occassionally a swarm of angry penguins.

Leave a Reply

