E-I-E-I-O

For those of you who are new here let me be clear, I’m not exactly the world’s most doting mom.  I’ve never been one to whip out the pictures of the Wonderkids at the slightest provocation,  I’m just not that guy.  That being said let me tell you about my morning.

Actually, let me set the scene for you a little bit.

The Infantile Delinquent is 4, so this year he started pre-school.  We’re sending him to the same pre-school that we did the Princess and the Pea.  It’s run out of the local high school, it’s a class for the high school kids and because of that I figure the student to “teacher” ratio is better than most.  (There is a real adult teacher who supervises but mostly it’s the high school students who are hands on with the kids.)

I called and registered the InfaDel for preschool last spring, we didn’t hear much over the summer and we still hadn’t heard anything when school started.  I went by the school and they said they’d be in touch.  About three weeks ago we got a letter from the school giving us a start date for preschool.  The InfaDel was so excited to get that note and to be going to preschool, that he carried the letter around for the intervening two and a half weeks.  The date start date was the 28th, Tuesday.  I work on Tuesdays but Sean was home so he took him.  The InfaDel had a great time.  I called after he got home and he told me all about the bear hunt song that they sang and about the activities that they did, all that jazz.

This morning he had preschool again.  He didn’t want to go.

It required most of my powers of persuasion to get him into the car.  And then he wouldn’t get out.  Finally we got him out by telling him that we all, him, The (not so) Baby and I were going to go in and see what the other kids were doing.  So we did.  He wasn’t seduced to join them like I thought he’d be.  He did eventually join them but I had to stay.  And stay, and stay.

I watched him plant a seed, I watched him paste together a construction paper barn, I watched him do a puzzle.  My son is amazing.  He was shy and quiet (something he never is at home) which meant that most of the time the “teachers'” attention was turned to another kid so he quietly did it all on his own.

The InfaDel doesn’t talk very well, he has some speech problems and will probably send a fair amount of time in therapy, he’s hard to understand even for me (I find it especially difficult when I’m driving and I don’t know what he’s looking at so I have no context clues as to what he’s saying, not mention that I can’t concentrate on that when I’m trying to cncentrate on driving.)  But he is amazingly spatially talented.  He looked at the example barn picture, picked through the shapes he had been given and choose the correct one every time.  He then put some glue on it and put it just where it should have been.  He does puzzles all day.

I stayed in preschool with him through snack time and song time but when I disappeared, to take the (not so) Baby to the bathroom, he got spooked that I was just going to disappear and it wasn’t long before he insisted we all go home.  So we did.

I don’t understand how he went from being so excited about school that he carries a piece of paper that he can’t even read around with him for 2 weeks to refusing to go at all, which is what I’m anticipating will happen Monday.  I don’t have time to go to preschool with him whenever he has it but I do think that some sort of prep for kindergarten is in order, especially given today’s  turn of events.

It’s not that the Princess and the Pea never balked at school, they did, but I feel like this has a different quality to it, like the motivation is different or… something.

Whatever, we shall persevere, I’ll come up with some brilliant solution.

But I do have a question for you: Why do none of the teenage girls who are taking this high school class know the words to Old McDonald?  (Seriously, I had to make sure to sing it loud enough that they could follow me because they kept getting lost.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 11:23:27

    Hmm, Caroline (2.5 yrs) is having a tough time with any sort of drop off activity. Especially nursery. This is the third nursery we’re starting her in in 1 1/2 years and she’s just not going to do it. She has to start primary in January too. I’m with her too. Why should she have to get used to play dough first, then play time first and then snack time first? Too many faces who suddenly know her name etc? Creepy if you ask me. So we might baby her and take her to RS until January because we feel guilty for uprooting her so often. Ugh… the motivation behind the behavior really does make a difference.

  2. LisAway
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 12:48:02

    Old MacDonald is a pretty complicated one. Don’t you feel bad for your little guy watching him be ignored? Do you feel like he was ignored? It’s hard as a teacher to give equal attention to those who are good and those who need more attention for other reasons. Anyway, I hope something changes and he starts enjoying going without dragging you in there. Hmmmm. I sort of feel bad for those high school kids! Preschool seems like it should be so easy to manage, but I studied it and did labs for two whole years (plus I totally have natural talent) and it’s still hard to do it right.

    I’m sort of rambling (it’s late) and not really making sense and talking like I do (or don’t) know just what is going on or something. I have a feeling I should delete this comment but then I’d have to come up with another one so here I go. . .

  3. flip flop mama
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 13:30:16

    Big Sister did a preschool like this when she first started too. She had a great time the first day and then the next couple days did NOT under any circumstances want to go. Then all of a sudden she did again. I hope that the little guy gets comfortable. I loved that it was a mostly 1-1 ratio in the High School preschool . As for not knowing “Old MacDonald” I have no idea what to say to that….

  4. Melanie Jacobson
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:13:07

    I don’t know the words to Wheels on the Bus but I don’t think that’s as bad.

Leave a Reply

