Premiere Week

Here we are, premiere week, the week that all our favorite TV shows start again for the year.  On the DVR to start recording this week I have House (which I missed the first episode of because my DVR somehow lost our recording info for that one), How I Met Your Mother and Bones (David Boreanaz, be still my beating heart). Which I think is a respectable (read not too long) list of shows.  Of course, that list does not comprise the entirety of our TV addictions, just those that follow the regular season.

On the DVR for future use we also have Burn Notice, White Collar (Oh TBS, how I love your shows) So You Think You Can Dance, Last Comic Standing and… probably a few more that I can’t think of at the moment.

And that’s not all we’re watching these days,  Over the past two weeks or so we’ve been watching Veronica Mars.  I LOVE the Veronica Mars!  We love it so much, in fact, that we have yet to watch the episode of How I Met Your Mother that we recorded on Monday because we’ve been watching VM.  (I also really really love NetFlix and their watch instantly shows [including VM] so that we can watch as many as we want as fast as we want for free.)

I don’t, however, love Veronica so much that Bones will spend more than an hour or so on the DVR (we have to get the kids to bed before we even try to watch), I love me some Bones.

When all is said and done we watch a lot of TV around here.  Probably more than we should.  I would say that we’re working on it but the fact is… we’re not.  The thing is that Sean and I have never been a couple to go on the regular date night that is so frequently recommended.  We don’t have the cash for a babysitter and we don’t really have a lot of interest in trading babysitting. (In all honesty we have a lot of interest in having someone else watch our kids, it’s just the watching some other couple’s kids that screws the whole thing up for us.) But what we do do is have a little mini-date just about every night.

I have a sister who has trouble sitting down on the couch and watching TV without doing something else at the same time.  I have no such problem.  Once we get the kids to bed it doesn’t matter what else needs to be done around the house, it doesn’t matter that the sink is full of dishes and the kitchen floor is makes that thwock thwock sound when you walk across it, It doesn’t matter that the front room, in which I’m sitting, desperately needs to be vacuumed, nothing’s going to get done.  I’m done being the mom for the night, which means I’m done working for the night.  (The one notable exception is Tuesday night when all the laundry that Sean washed throughout the whole day [usually 6 or 7 loads] gets folded.)

Sean and I get the kids down for the night and then we climb onto the couch and watch TV (and eat ice cream).

The way I figure it, if we were going to go on a date once a week we’d probably go to dinner and a movie (we’re not very imaginative around here).  But the way we do it we have dinner together, with all the kids, and then we watch the equivalent of a few movies over the course of a week (or sometimes when we’re out of TV to watch [I know, but it does happen] we do watch movies) so it’s like going on several dates.

It’s my understanding that this sitting and watching TV together every night is somewhat unusual.  I don’t understand that.  What do you do at night if you don’t sit with your spouse and watch TV?

Also, what shows (preferably shows that are now over and available on NetFlix) do we need to watch?  There are only 3 seasons of Veronica Mars afterall.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 08:28:12

    That’s what we do! How funny. I love just relaxing when we’re all done with our work for the day and watching TV shows with my hubby. We’re finishing catching up on NCIS and then we’ll start the new season (started yesterday I think!). We don’t have a DVR, though (or even an antenna…). We just watch the TV shows on the internet. True, you can’t get some of the channels, but the regular ones show up just fine, although a few make you wait a week. I don’t mind. House will be on hulu or fox in a week, if you want to catch up then. (I know this will put you behind for watching next week, but since you have a DVR you can just record that, watch the first episode on hulu/fox and then watch your recorded one). We have our TV hooked up to our computer so we can watch it on a larger screen, too. The only thing is we’re trying to cut out the ice cream and treats. 😦 Tonight I’m making pb cookies, though, and hopefully we’ll finally get to relax!
    When we’re NOT watching our shows we read together or play computer games or work on side projects. 🙂

  2. Susan M
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 08:42:50

    We watch TV all the time, too. I have weird taste in TV shows, though.

    If you’ve never seen Arrested Development, it’s highly recommended. Just be aware that it’s rather raunchy. I can’t believe some of the stuff they got away with on that show. But it seriously is the most brilliantly written TV show of all time. You can watch it over and over and still catch more jokes and plays on words that you missed. And the foreshadowing is amazing.

  3. Julie
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 09:48:25

    Our relaxing evenings and home date nights are often catching up on what’s on the dvr, too. We switched satellite companies this summer to a place that was way cheaper for way more channels. This has been a problem (for me). Some of your faves are some of ours, too – especially White Collar and Burn Notice.

    Re: House. Pretty interesting. I hadn’t watched the 2nd half of last season, and this 1st episode picked up with the same scene as the last scene of last seasons last episode (there had to be a way to say that with less words). Anyway…kind of fun in a “House” way.

    I’ve heard so much about VM, I’ve got to try season 1 tonight on netflix.

  4. melanie
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:02:20

    We totally do the same thing everynight. I recommend Criminal Minds and My new favorite is The Good Wife but we are only one season in so you might want to put that off for a while.

  5. diana banana
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:26:45

    we also do the same thing….so your bubble is bursting on the whole “we might be the only ones to do this”. and i was also going to reccommend AD b/c i didn’t remember if you’d seen it yet. you will love. hmmm what else? there is good stuff on right now…….Justified and Sons of Anarchy…excellent (and totally on FX, which makes us feel slightly guilty about watching b/c….its FX)
    anyway….

    (i just read through this and if I wasn’t your sister this comment would sound rude…instead its just sisterly haha)

  6. Kristina P
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 11:43:45

    Weirdly enough, even though I watch probably 7 hours of TV a day, I don’t watch any of the shows you listed.

  7. Jaime
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 12:21:40

    We also use TV as our quality time, so I agree with Diana, I think your bubble is bursting. I have often asked the question of couples who don’t watch TV in the same incredulous voice, “What do you do?” I totally don’t get it.

    Sean and I do play soccer together three times a week but I think that’s just because our kids are old/gone now. When they were younger it was pretty TV quality time or nothing!

  8. Alison Wonderland
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 12:31:46

    To be clear, I never said that I thought that we were the only ones who did this, just that it’s my understanding that it’s not some national norm. It doesn’t surprise me that a lot of my readers (my friends) do the same things I do. We are friends (and therefore the same kinds of people) afterall.

  9. flip flop mama
    Sep 22, 2010 @ 18:58:00

    We used to do this, but have tried to cut down on our tv watching during the week. Now that our shows are back on though we’ll probably catch up on Friday and Saturday and maybe during the week. We watch How I Met Your Mother, Community and 30 Rock.

  10. LisAway
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 02:51:37

    That is us exactly. I am very strict about kids being and staying in bed by nine at the latest. Around 8:30 I get grouchy (because my mother shift is OVER!), so we work to have them in bed by then. After that, it’s lounge on the couch with the husband. I love it!! I have often wondered what other people do, too. However, now I know because for the last week or two Greg puts music on in the evening and works on his computer (he used to do that while we watched TV, or more commonly movies that play on TV). I usually use that time to blog, email and facebook or do whatever else I need to on the computer and I’ve been going to bed early to try to read some Moby Dick. That’s not really working out, as I fall asleep as soon as I’m in bed (or more likely realize that there’s laundry that has to be hung, dinner to put in the fridge, etc. etc.)

    But anyway, we used to watch tons of TV together too. Until a couple of weeks ago. Now we plan for when an interesting movie is coming on. It’s our date, too. This doesn’t sound how I want it to, or explain very well but I’m not going to try to fix it. I’m tired.

  11. Melanie Jacobson
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 17:01:59

    We do the same thing every night and I like it like that. And our list makes you guys look like total amateurs. And we’re more tired than you are.

  12. julie
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 16:14:46

    I have always been with your sister (umm Catherine?) that couldn’t sit in front of the TV with out doing something else productive at the same time. But since I’ve been struggling, Netflicks instant watch has been my best friend (for better or for worse). I am seriously in mourning that I have completed all four seasons of Bones on the instant player. So I was happy to see these suggestions.
    And as soon as I’m back to feeling like me I’m not going to stop. It’s a very relaxing thing to do. And I love doing it with Will too.

Leave a comment