Seasons Change

Note: I have one week to raise the rest of my HERA money.  As of right now I’m short $45 $25 $15 $5.  C’mon, you can spare 5bucks to fight cancer can’t you? have met my goal!  You guys are the best.  I’m leaving the button up for the rest of the week until I go to the event next Friday so feel free to click it and donate.  And as always you can donate to my LiveStrong page.  I didn’t win that bike but the fund-raising efforts continue.

I noticed Tuesday morning as I rode my bike to the train that it’s cooler in the mornings these days, specifically that it was a little bit too cold to sit on a platform waiting for a train in clothes that were just slightly damp from having worked up a sweat riding to said platform.  It wasn’t the kind of cold that makes one shiver per se, just that cold the sinks deep into the muscles and leaves you feeling slightly cold for the next four or five hours (it makes for a fun day at work, let me tell you).

I noticed on my ride home from work that it’s getting dark earlier.  A lot earlier.  (And then it gets really dark making the last part of a bike commute really interesting.)

In short, the seasons are changing.  We’re moving into fall.

I’m wondering if there’s something I can do to arrest this change, or if I’ve let it get too far.

Now, I don’t want to be misunderstood.  I have no argument with fall.  I like the colors.  I love the rain.  I’m even a fan of the cooler temperatures.

I just don’t like what fall means.

The thing is that I’m not a fan of winter.  I live in a state known for its fantastic winter sports but I’ve never even worn a pair of skis.  I don’t snowboard or snowshoe or … I don’t do any of that.  Every year I rediscover the fact that I’m ready for winter to be over right around Christmas.

And then it just keeps being winter.  For months!

That’s my problem with fall.  On its own it’s fine but what it means is that winter’s coming.

I think that the whole change of season thing used to be a lot easier on me.  Before we had air conditioning I was always happy to have fall roll around to give me a break from the heat.  in fact, I think I got, by the end of summer, so that I was about as sick of summer as I am of winter at the end of winter.  And then I bought Sean A/C for his birthday.  And here I am.

So my question is this: do you have a favorite pair of socks?  Why?  What brand are they?  Where did you get them?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:51:15

    No favorite pair of socks.

    And I’m not a winter fan either. I’ve lived in Utah most of my life, and have never been skiing or snowboarding.

  2. Sarah
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 08:52:59

    Wool. Mine are just some camping brand from REI or maybe even Walmart but they’ve saved my feet, and therefore my poor husband’s life. 😉 I already dread the winter. I love the clouds of snow and the snowy star-lit skies… but I can do without the ice and cold!

  3. Cynedra
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 09:53:21

    I generally like winter, but then again I live in a state that other people come to spend the winter. If I had to deal with snow or long lasting cold, then not so much. I love fall though probably my favorite – the 2 or 3 days we actually get in late Nov or early Dec.

  4. cheryl
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 11:33:37

    I have some kind of fuzzy socks that I love to wear in the winter. The rest of the year? I’m barefoot.

    I hate winter, too. I keep thinking I should like it, or that I should give it a better chance, but it’s just too blah (after Christmas. Christmas snow, for sure, is a must).

  5. evitafjord
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 13:09:35

    I miss winter.

    My favorite socks usually end up coming from my husband’s drawer. First I mock him for buying ankle socks because he wants to be cool like the HS kids he teaches, and then I steal them because they are new and soft. I also love the skidproof socks I have on right now (also stolen from him, now that I think about it). They were from the WM probably 5 years ago and I think because they are men’s they have the skidproof in stripes instead of dots or some silly shape like all of the women’s ones we have around.

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 13:34:57

    My favorite socks come from Target. I live an hour away from the nearest Target. Yeah, it’s inhumane.

  7. Flipflopmama
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 19:56:45

    I can’t say I have a favorite pair of socks. I don’t liketo wear them if I don’t have to. I do however like to wear my slippers when my feet get cold.

Leave a Reply

