Topical Schmopical

So you may have noticed that the blogging around here has picked up (no, not the quality of the blogging, don’t be silly, just the amount of blogging).

The explanation for the renewed interest (my interest) is that I’ve decided to revisit my plan for world domination through blogging.

I am having a few problems with that though.  I’m told (you know, “they” say) that in order to really make it somewhere with your blog you need to have a topic, an overarching theme to your posts.

Some people blog about food, some people blog about mortgages, some people blog about cycling, or celebrities, or snuggies.  Me?  I don’t have a theme.  Look at my categories, I go from kids to work to writing to working-out (I notice that alphabetically there’s not a whole lot of variation there, but we’re not talking about the alphabet here, we’re talking about topics.)

So what should my topic be I wonder?

I could write a food blog.  I am actually a pretty good cook.  Unfortunately, I find that when you write a food blog people want recipes, and I’m not so much with the measuring.  All my recipes go something like this: “you start out with some garlic (never a bad way to start) maybe half a clove’s worth, or maybe more, you could do like a whole clove, or two cloves or… and then you put in some zucchini, just you know, however much you want…” and it’s just devolves from there.

I guess food blogging is out.

I could write about mortgages.  There are two problems with that, the first is that all I know about mortgages is that you don’t end up paying any money towards the actual house until you’ve owned it for about 29 years (and that no one’s ever made it that far).  The second problem is that I find mortgage blogs stupifyingly boring (except for yours Chris, I love yours).  So no mortgage blogging.

I don’t know enough about cycling, I don’t like celebrities, and I’m pretty sure that the snuggie blog market is pretty well flooded by this one blog.

I’m having trouble with topical.

So if I’m not going to be topical, I guess I need to be funny.  Really really funny.  Side splittingly, hilariously, spit your coffee (or your coke) at the screen funny.

I’m not that funny.

So funny’s out.  Maybe I’ll try for interesting.

Oh who am I kidding?  Interesting is a lot of work and I don’t have that kind of time (or, you know, interest).

Sigh.

You know, I’m not sure I’m all that into world domination anyway.  It sounds like a lot of work.

Note: Really I’m just blogging more lately because I feel like blogging more lately, it’s as simple as that.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan M
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 08:57:37

    Me too.

    Sometimes I think since most of us Vegas ladies have petered out on our blogging, we should just have one group blog with all of us participating, which leaves the pressure off of each of us needed to keep our personal blogs constantly updated, a bit.

    But eh, it sounds like a lot of work.

    [Hmmm… group world domination. Interesting idea. -Al]

  2. Flipflopmama
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 09:13:28

    Group world domination. Now Susan’s on to something.

    I’m pretty sure your topic is just life. I think I would be bored by a blog if it only talked about one topic. Keep on blogging, I say!

  3. Kristina P
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 11:15:15

    We’ve been trying to contact Snuggie, for various things, like helping people, one Snuggie at a time, and they haven’t responded. I’m thinking about promoting Slanket now. I will let you know if I do that, so I can pass the Snuggie torch to you.

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 15:39:13

    I second Flip Flop’s notion that Susan is on to something. Group world domination…totally.
    And I don’t really care what your topic is, so far I’ve always liked it…I mean, I keep coming back don’t I?

  5. Chris Jones
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 16:18:42

    Al, I find mortgages stupefyingly boring. Which is why my blog is not, except by cosmic accident, ever about mortgages.

    My blog is about a lot of the same stuff yours is, because it’s the stuff we like talking about. You are interesting, therefore your blog is interesting.

Leave a Reply

