I Don’t Like Pina Coladas Either

Last week I took the little boys on a walk (and by walk I mean that I walked and they rode their bikes) to the “duck place”. The duck place is part of a trail not to far from our house. It’s included in my ride home from work and part of most of my recreational rides.

It was a beautiful day and the kids had a great time (until I made then walk all the way around the circle and it was hot and they were tired and by the end there may have been some tears, but to begin with it was nothing but smiles) see:

So the next day The Infantile Delinquent wanted to go back to the duck place. Well, I’m in “attentive mom” mode these days (until school starts on Wednesday and then I’ll probably go back to ignoring the kids) so I said OK.

As we loaded up into the car I noticed that the sky was a little overcast, and I asked the InfaDel if he was sure that he wanted to go.  He was.  As we drove the mile or so to the duck place a few small drops of rain hit the windshield, I again questioned the InfaDel.  He wanted to go on.  As I parked and got out of the van and went around to the back to unload the bikes I mentioned to the InfaDel that it was cold and windy.  He hopped out of the car, said”it’s not cold” and took off on his bike.

The (not so) baby and I followed.

There’s a small trail that leads to the duck place. The trail runs right along the back of a few houses that have horses (I suppose it would be more accurate to indicate that the people who own the houses have horses but let’s just move on ok?) and as we walked and/or rode by we said hello to the horses. And as we did that it started to rain. Not too hard really, big fat drops but there weren’t too many of them and the InfaDel insisted so we continued on.

Do I even need to finish this story?

As we got to the duck place what had been a few fat lazy drops of rain had turned into a steady, but still lightish drizzle.

And then the heavens opened.

Within about 2 minutes we were all soaked.  Now people often say that they were soaked when they were in fact not soaked, occasionally they say  it when they’re hardly even damp.  This is not one of those times.  We were really really wet.  We were drowned rat kind of wet.  We were turn on your shower full blast, step into it fully clothed and stand there for five minutes kind of wet.

The (not so) Baby was so freaked out by all the water that just poured from the sky that he abandoned his bike and ran to me (as if I could protect him from the rain.  I couldn’t.)  I picked him up with one arm, picked his bike up with the other and herded the InfaDel back in the direction of the car.

The whole walk back both boys cried and I laughed (hey, when it’s laugh or cry I’ve never seen the point of the latter).  We got back to the car to find that the spot where I had parked was lower than that surrounding asphalt.  Giggle.  And the Infadel was too scared by the whole thing to venture out of the relative safety of the trees (The trail along the horse property is semi-wooded (although I’m here to tell you that the trees were not offering much by way or protection).) so I put the (not so) baby in the car, put his bike in the car and then ran (slogged) back for the InfaDel.  I got us all into the car at which point I turned it on and turned up the heat, in an effort to alleviate all of our shivering, and then removed my shoes and poured water out of them.

With some difficulty I coxed the kids into their cars seats (“It will get wet.” “Yes, it will.  But we can’t dry off until we get home and we can’t get home until you get into your seat.  It’ll dry.  Get into your seat.”  “It will get wet.” …)

We were so ridiculously wet that when we got home I really wanted to take pictures but I couldn’t find the camera.  But the memory is pretty lasting, I asked the (not so) Baby yesterday if he wanted to go to the Duck place.  He told me, “no.  It’s raining at the duck place.”

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 09:01:55

    I suppose you will never have to go to the duck place again!

    I hope you reinacted scenes from The Notebook.

  2. flip flop mama
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 10:58:43

    Ahhh, the things that make good stories.

    The same kind of thing happened to me at the Wild Animal Park a few years ago. I can so relate.

  3. Melanie J
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 13:10:58

    I don’t mind a good old fashioned soaking every now and then.

  4. LisAway
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 13:12:56

    Oh I love that. What an adventure! Glad you could laugh. I sometimes laugh in those situations but the older kids get mad when they’re present. I have told them a number of times about the whole “laugh or cry” thing but they just seem to think crying is always the best choice.

  5. madhousewife
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 22:16:26

    Were you as wet as I was after I got off the rafting ride at the Silverwood theme park? Squishy tennis shoes = gross.

Leave a Reply

