Party Girls

“Hey Alison, I’m having a party this weekend I was wondering if you could come?”

“Um, yeah probably, when is it?”

“Saturday at noon”

“Yeah, that should be fine. What’s the party for? Is it your birthday or something?”

“Oh no, I just have some candles/lingerie/tupperware that I wanted to show you.”

“Oh.” And just like that we’ve gone from Yea, I’ve been invited to a party! to How the heck can I get out of this party high pressure sales situation? (You can call it whatever you want but no matter how you slice it, you trying to sell me something is not a party.) And then it’s, “Aren’t these candles great? I’m not really that into candles actually You know, with a product as great as this you should do more than just buy them I should…burn them?, you should sell them to your friends! Not if I want to continue to have friends These candles are so great there’s not really any selling involved, they literally sell themselves then what is it you’ve spent the last hour doing?. You can be the president of your own company, you can make so much money in your free time So much money? doubtful. Free Time? , it’s just like getting paid to go to parties No, no it’s not…”

Now you want me not only to buy but you want me to sell as well?!

If there’s one thing I hate more than being pressured into buying something that I neither need nor want it’s selling. Honestly, I’d rather stab myself in the eye.

I know, I know, times are tough we’re all just trying to make a living and feed our families and all that jazz.  But well, times are tough and I’m having enough trouble making a living and feeding my family without having to spend spend time defending my pocketbook at a “party”.

Which reminds me, I still need to raise another $65.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 09:03:00

    “it’s just like getting paid to go to parties No, no it’s not…”

    What it is like is like possibly getting paid a tiny bit to be the organizer of high pressure sales situation after high pressure sales situation.

  2. Catherine
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 10:57:12

    I just throw those invitations straight in the garbage. Why do so many people insist on doing them though? It baffles me.

  3. Melanie J
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 19:41:59

    I hate those parties. Unless they’re selling something I want like make up. Or candles. Or kitchen stuff. But other than that, I hate them.

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 21:36:16

    Hey Alison, Wanna come to a party I’m having NEVER?!!!

  5. Jill
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 12:10:53

    WARNING! Rant ahead!

    I used to get invited to a ton of Stampin’ up parties. (I don’t stamp)
    I always bought something to “help out” my friend. After obtaining a large supply of stamps (some of which have never been used) I decided to have a Pampered chef party, and NONE of these friends came.
    (FYI, Pampered Chef insists that they not be called parties, they prefer to call it a “show.”)

    I love it when people that hardly speak to you at church, suddenly become your best friend when they’re having a candle party.

    I used to be a Pampered Chef consultant, and NO it is not like getting paid to go to a party. I did it mostly for the free stuff, which was good thing because I stunk at booking shows and recruiting new consultants, because that’s really the only way to make decent $ in these companies.

    I never go to any of these “parties” anymore.

  6. E
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 21:54:05

    Do not like parties!

Leave a Reply

