More Proof I’m an Idiot

Note: The raffle is closed (although there’s still a book left so if you want to buy one I guess that’s still ok).  I haven’t gotten around to drawing names for the raffle winner yet.  Expect an update soon(ish).

We’re pretty hard on our vacuums around here.  For the last year and half or so we’ve had a very nice Eureka upright vacuum.  It has a “power paw” attachment which looks great but that I’ve come to realize is completely useless.  But altogether, it’s not a bad vacuum.  It’s not bagless but it came with several extra bags and I don’t really see how emptying a canister is so much better than tossing a bag, so I don’t really care.

About two weeks ago, after having spent 3 hours cleaning and organizing the playroom (yes it was that bad), I was vacuuming and then the vacuum just stopped.  It didn’t grind to halt.  It didn’t squeak or squeal or smoke or make any kind of funny noise.  It just died.

I believe that my first thought was something along the lines of “awesome”.

I messed with it for a few more minutes, turning it on and off, with absolutely no result.  “Super Awesome.”

Sean tried messing with it.  Nothing.

So we sighed, put the vacuum outside the back door next to the trash and moved on with our lives.

For about a week we went without a vacuum but let’s face it, I have four kids, I need a vacuum.  So Sean went to costco and bought a new one.  (Yes, Sean buys the vacuums, don’t question the division of purchases in the Wonderland, it doesn’t even make sense to me.)  He didn’t get the top of the line, he did not get a dyson, but he did pay $150 or so for a Hoover, wind tunnel, blah blah blah vacuum.  It’s a fine vacuum.  We used it for about a week and it worked very well.

Then last Friday, after doing the bills, I was going trough the filing cabinet and I came across what I thought was the owner’s manual for the old Eureka (which was still standing right outside of the back door because we’re not organized enough to actually put it out on the curb with the garbage on garbage day) it had a small trouble shooting section.  I read through it.

“Hey, it says here that there’s a fuse of some kind in that vacuum,” I said to Sean. “That is kind of what it sounded like, like a fuse just blew or something.”

“That’s not the owner’s manual for that vacuum, that’s the one for the last one .” Sean said. (He was right, it was the owner’s manual for a Dirt Devil of some kind or other. Did I mention that we’re pretty hard on our vacuums?)

But he went to the backdoor and grabbed the vacuum anyway.  Plugging it in, he turned it on only to have it start right up.

He then turned it off and pulled the front off, discovering that the bag was completely full.  So full in fact, that the hose thing leading to the bag was jammed full.  We cleaned it out, changed the bag and the vacuum has not given us one more minute of trouble.

That’s right, we spent $150 on a new vacuum because we weren’t smart enough to change the bag on the old one.

Awesome.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 08:35:36

    Nice. Adam had to clean out the biggest hairball in the world from our vacuum. Apparently, I shed.

  2. Jill
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 09:23:19

    Look at it this way, you can get the vacuuming done twice as fast because two people can vaccuum at the same time.
    Plus, when the original vacuum does actually die, (and it will) you will already have the replacement.

    My mom had the same Hoover vacuum for over 30 years before it finally died. She’s been through about 10 vacuums since then.

    They just don’t make them like they used to.
    (and yes, I realize that comment makes me sound like a really old person)

  3. bythelbs
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 10:57:16

    Someday you will see the greater purpose in having purchased that extra vacuum. Maybe not today, maybe not tomorrow, but someday. And then you’ll use this story in a sacrament meeting talk for years to come.

    P.S. The new layout’s kinda fun.

  4. melanie
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 11:02:19

    I like the new format!

  5. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 13:11:08

    I love the new layout. Love it. Like wanna-be-a-brat-and-copy-you kind of love. But I love you more, so I will restrain. 🙂

  6. Flipflopmama
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 19:02:05

    Now instead of having to unplug the vacuum and drag it to the other side of the house you can just keep one on one side an one on the other! Yeah, that’s a lame idea but I tried.

    Cute new layout!

  7. Melanie J
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 16:59:05

    Um, I’m going to act like I haven’t done this. (But I totally have.)

Leave a Reply

