The One Where I’m a Dangerous Part of the Counter Culture

Before We Begin: There is still one copy of On The Table (my book) available. If you’re interested follow this link and not only will you get a great book, you’ll help a great cause.

I’ve never really thought of myself as particularly rebellious. Sure, I’ve had my moments, mostly in high school, but even then my rebellion was relatively tame. I’ve never smoked anything, I’ve never dunk anything alcoholic, I’ve never even used someone else’s prescription. And these days I don’t feel rebellious at all. Look at me, I’ve been married for 12 years, I have four kids (which is, admittedly, more than the national average but not astoundingly so), I drive a minivan for Pete’s sake!

All that being said…

I have a problem. Today I’m supposed to go take a test. I’m not worried about the test, I’m pretty sure that I could sleep through it and still pass. It’s a pre-req for nursing but since I’m not actually going to start nursing school in this decade (that’s a post for another day) I don’t actually HAVE to take it today except that I’m scheduled to do so and changing the schedule now is problematic, not to mention that they’ll charge me a penalty. Sean’s home from work today so that’s not a problem. It’s just that, well…

This is what the handbook says: “All students must wear appropriate attire to the skills test. Scrubs, hair tied back, watch on, no dangling jewelry and must have closed toes shoes.” That’s pretty standard and too hard to comply with. However, the recording when you call to schedule is a little more … specific. It includes things like not having visible tattoos, not having any facial or tongue piercings, not having spiked hair and not having any unnatural hair colors.

I’m good with the tattoos. I don’t have any visible or not. Likewise, I have no piercings on my face or my tongue (I do still have a mostly patent hole in my ear cartilage but I don’t wear an earring in there and somehow I don’t think that it’s going to be too much of a problem). I don’t usually spike my hair and I can certainly make a point of not doing so today.

However, my hair currently looks like this:


Fuchsia’s a natural color right?

I wonder if I can get away with wearing a hat?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jillybean
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:27:03

    If they ask you about it, mention your 4 children and that blame the hair color on them.
    They obviously colored your hair while you were asleep, right?
    ;0)

  2. LisAway
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 10:50:55

    I wouldn’t worry. You’re hair is so healthy and shiny that that’s probably all they’ll notice. 🙂

  3. Kristina P.
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 12:33:49

    Red is natural to some, right?

  4. Flipflopmama
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 20:05:33

    Maybe wear a hat?? It will be in a ponytail anyway, right? I’m sure you’ll be fine.

  5. bythelbs
    Aug 10, 2010 @ 21:28:58

    They’ll be so distracted by your awesomeness, they won’t even notice.

Leave a Reply

