Adventures in Physical Fitness

On the way in to work last night my car started acting funny.  It was reving weird and sort of bouncing along and just generally behaving badly.  On the way home form work it was even worse, in fact, I was pretty lucky to get home (and the idea of being stranded on the freeway at 2am without a cell phone (don’t ask) isn’t quite as much fun as you might think).

This morning Shaun got in the car (we don’t have his and hers cars as much as we have work and not work cars) to take it to work, made it about a mile and then came home to switch for the van (which is currently sporting a check engine light but does still get you from point A to point B without too much fear that you’ll be stranded on the side of the road).  So when I got up it was my job to figure out what to do about the car.

After chatting with Shaun we decided that I should take it to the transmission place that’s about a mile from our house (it should make it that far) and then just ride my bike home.  So that was the plan.  Until I went out to get my bike to put it in the car at which point I realized that my front tire is flat.  I looked for the pump.  Couldn’t find it. (I can’t really tell you how often I buy bike pumps, suffice it to say It’s really often.)  But the car had to go in.

So I took the car in.  And RAN home.

Now I know that it was only about a mile, (1.35 according to map my run) but it was hot out.  Really Hot.  And I was running errands here people (literally) not working out (except that I’m calling that my my workout for the day).

Anyway, to moral of the story is that I think it’s pretty cool that running home was an option but really people, the stuff I do because I’m in good enough shape to do it is getting a little ridiculous.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan M
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 11:42:06

    That’s funny. I would have taken the bike and found out if the transmission place had an air pump!

    I’m about to go run errands in our truck that likes to break down. Wish me luck.

  2. LisAway
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 11:53:49

    You go. I plan to never run errands. I will always walk them.

  3. cheryl
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 12:04:52

    That is awesome. Not the car part, the running home part. You are my HERO.

  4. madhousewife
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 13:40:12

    Good grief. I couldn’t run home if it was half a mile. I would be so screwed. YOU ARE LIKE A GOD TO ME.

  5. bythelbs
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 20:20:32

    I’m pretty sure that would never happen to me. Like, never.

  6. flipflopmama
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 11:45:38

    You rock.

  7. Janelle
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 14:23:29

    I only run when someone’s chasing me. And typically that is my two year old. So I don’t have to run very fast.

    Fun post.

Leave a Reply

