This Message is Brought to you By…

I think that we’re all pretty used to product placement by this point.  We watch the painful “not-commercials” peppered throughout “Biggest Loser” where the contestants oh so casually discuss the merits of sugar free gum or multi-vitamins.  We see the cars that our favorite characters drive on “Bones” or “Burn Notice” and hear them only slightly more casually list the features that they love about their cars.  We notice, we turn to whoever we’re watching with and say “hey did you catch that commercial that we just watched?” (At least I do.)  And who hasn’t noticed that just about every character in every movie, televisions show, reality show, you name it, uses an iPhone?

However, today I noticed that we’ve reached a new level.  While watching some commercials today (yes, I was watching commercials, I happened upon “River Monsters” which I don’t DVR but I always watch if I find it, it’s the best fishing show ever) first I noticed a Gillette commercial in which some guy holds out his iPhone to show the other guy an animation of the “irritating tug and pull” that results from the use of regular razors.  It’s quick, it’s not the in your face advertising that we get with some of the product placement on television shows but still.  And then the very next commercial was for University of Phoenix.  And in that commercial were prominently displayed and iPad and a macbook.  Really?!

Have we really come to the point in which we need product placement in our commercials?

PS. I would probably have written this post on my iTouch except he went for a little swim this morning.  We don’t have a diagnosis yet, he’s in intensive care (the rice bag that we now just keep around for the inevitable dunking of some electronic gadget or other) we’ll have more information in the morning.  Pray for me.

Update: Touchy the iTouch has had a complete recovery.  I appreciate your prayers.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 19:32:32

    Excellent.

  2. s'mee
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 20:05:16

    I feel like every time I turn the tv on I am being played. Not even the news is good information; it’s more newsertainment – what/who made the most money today/this week and how to go about getting regular folk to buy into it all. If we’re not buyin’ -we’re dyin’.

  3. LisAway
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 01:11:44

    I say move to Poland. We have iPhones (fewer of them, for sure) but it’s not such a Thing. And commercials are better over here.

    And thanks for the recommendation. I’ve been trying to find the best fishing show for years now.

  4. flip flop mama
    Jul 16, 2010 @ 09:07:50

    We always change the channel when they do the Biggest Loser commercials. It’s getting so lame. I hope your iTouch is alive.

Leave a Reply

