Because I’m Not Posting About How My 4 Year-old Broke the TV

I ran a 5K on the 3rd.  I decided that 3+ miles is a long way to run and I’m never going to do that crap again.  Well, Ok, not really, although that is what I told myself while I was running.

I’m going to spare you all the play by play but I will say that I was a little disappointed in that I was hoping to do it in under 30 min (29:59 would have been just fine) and I did it in 31:20 or so.  I’m pretty sure that I’ll get over the disappointment.

I was joking when I said that I was never going to run something like that again but I’m currently not running regularly, it’s too hard on my knees.  But at the same time, I want to be the kind of person who can do something like that, I’d like to be in good enough shape that running 3 miles isn’t too big of a deal.  I’m working on it.

(As an aside, let me mention that my current healthy, get in shape, be in shape, kick is pretty much exclusively due to a friend of mine (who now owes me roughly 87 gallons of ice cream) although that certainly wasn’t her intention and I’d just like to say that no good deed goes unpunished.)

I got to see one of my favorite people for brunch and wandering around and chatting the other day, it was fantastic.

I still know nothing about school, I did however put in an application to take the one nursing class that you can take without actually being in the program today so we’ll see what happens there.  If I don’t get it I think I’m going to take fall semester off, school is just a little much for me lately (the fact that I started crying at work the other day (and really freaked out the girls that I work with) I’m taking as an indicator that my current baseline stress level is just a little too high) the question is what to do with my time off.  I think I might write.

The check engine light is on in the van.  Let’s move on, I’m trying to be cheerful (or at least not depressed).

My kids go back to school in 2 weeks!!!

This post was a lot better when I thought it up a week ago, it was entertaining and there was a lot more of it.  Some things get better with age, others not so much.

I have to go workout.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LisAway
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 12:47:14

    Congrats on your run! Awesome. I ran cross country in high school and would love to be comfortable doing 5k, too. Currently I can’t do 5 blocks although I haven’t tried. Maybe I’d actually have no problem doing 5k. I currently don’t get winded when I climb up our stairs, so that’s definitely a sign of something.)

    Take a break off of school and write a novel. So I can own it and read it.

    And yeah, I’ve already noticed that blog posts are not a lot like cheese.

  2. bythelbs
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 12:51:54

    It was fantastic. And now I miss you again.

    I second the writing thing.

  3. e
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 12:54:31

    You could run without shoes and it would be a lot easier on your knees.

    Of course you’ll hobble around the house because your feet hurt, but….

  4. flipflopmama
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 13:11:25

    Good job on the 5K! It’s pretty empowering knowing you can do it, huh? I haven’t run since mine but that’s because I have shin splints. Stupid legs.

    You should eat ice cream while writing a book. That would be an awesome use of your time.

  5. cheryl
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 20:59:52

    I owe you at least 88 gallons. At least.

    Btw, I’m super-crazy proud of you for runnin’ the 5K! And in less than 32 minutes!? Girl, that’s awesome. I didn’t do that until my 2nd 5K, and I was killing myself to get it.

Leave a Reply

