Conversations with a Two Year-old

Mom: Ok sweetie, I love you.  Go right to sleep ok.

Two Year-old: I want the door open a little bit.

M: I’ll leave the door open a little bit as long as you’re quiet, but if you start making a lot of noise I’m going to have to close it.

TYo: NO, DON’T CLOSE THE DOOR!!!!!

M: Shhhh… Sweetheart, I won’t close the door if you can be quiet.  You have to stop crying or I’m going to have to close the door.

TYo: I DON’T WANT  YOU TO CLOSE THE DOOR!!!!!!

M: That’s fine love, just stop crying and I’ll leave the door open.

TYo: I WANT YOU TO LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN!

M: I know you do, and I will if you can just stop.  If you stop crying then I’ll leave the door open.

TYo: WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!

M: If you keep crying like this then I’m going to have to shut the door.

TYo: I WANT DADDY! I WANT DADDY! I WANT DADDY!!

M: You can’t have dad and I’m leaving, now are you going to be quiet so that I can leave the door open?

TYo: I WANT YOU TO LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN!!!!

M: I will if you can be quiet.

TYo: DON’T CLOSE THE DOOR!!!!

M: Can you be quiet?

TYo: I WANT THE DOOR OPEN!!!!

M: All you have to do is be quiet.

TYo: I WANT THE DOOR OPEN A LITTLE BIT!!!!

M: Ok, just stop crying.

TYo: DON’T CLOSE THE DOOR!!!

M: I Won’t close the door, if you’ll just … Oh forget it.

Mom closes the door and heads downstairs followed by the sounds of muffled screaming.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 08:45:43

    Sounds like the conversation I recently had with my husband.

  2. LisAway
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 08:49:56

    EXACTLY. Two year olds. They seriously just cannot let one thing go to understand another. It’s so weird. SUCH a simple thing and they sometimes CANNOT let it go. Those are the times I seriously just want to throw in the towel. Sounds like you handled it perfectly. 🙂

  3. LisAway
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 08:51:45

    Also, it was funny to read. Didn’t mean for you to think that I didn’t laugh at the “oh forget it” just because I can SO relate. 🙂 And one more 🙂 for good measure. (I think I’m trying to balance out the bad feeling I have about writing these stupid articles on computer security, which I know (and care) nothing about. So you’re getting all the love. 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. Jami
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 20:28:02

    Yes! I have a version of this conversation daily with several members of my household. Too bad they don’t stay behind the closed door with their weeping, wailing & gnashing of teeth.

  5. Melanie J
    Jul 05, 2010 @ 23:10:52

    Yeah, that’s pretty much nap time every day at our house.

  6. Flipflopmama
    Jul 06, 2010 @ 11:58:00

    Sounds like the conversation I had with my five year old this morning. Ah being a parent.

  7. bythelbs
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 11:00:45

    I’m surprised you hung in there that long.

Leave a Reply

