Humility

I said something absolutely inexcusable to my children this morning.

I could go into details about the extenuating circumstances and about the time and the blah blah blah but none of it makes it ok.

None of it.

And I know that, I want to not believe it, but I know it.

A few minutes after my horrific explosion I was on facebook. I saw a link to this, and another link to this and another … I didn’t want to watch it, it was only going to make me feel worse. But somehow I did anyway.

And it did make me feel worse.

But it also made me feel better.

PS. My favorite part is when she’s trying to get the kid out of the bathroom.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 11:27:17

    That is a really beautiful video. I sometimes feel like there’s no way I’m ever going to make any of my goals with my kids… like there’s no way I’m going to make it through this next day. It’s good to remember God is watching over us always.

  2. Julie@my5monkeys
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 11:27:39

    thanks for sharing this and I SO needed to hear this and there times its tough but its rewarding too.

  3. Susan M
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 11:40:26

    I love Elder Holland.

    And fortunately for us less-than-perfect mothers, kids are very resilient!

  4. Catherine
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 12:25:31

    Shame on you for making me cry today! The bathroom is very good, but I think I liked the “prayer” towards the end where the husband is just chugging along and the mom is trying to get 5 boys to stop wrestling with each other.

  5. Flipflopmama
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 14:12:56

    That is such a good video. I watched it this morning too. I especially like how they showed real life and mothering instead of just hugs and smiles. We all make mistakes. Thank heavens for being able to say I’m sorry and start over.

  6. Annette
    Jul 01, 2010 @ 20:34:19

    Thanks. I needed that.

  7. LisAway
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 08:18:46

    Thanks for sharing this. I hate those bad moments in mothering. We all have them. Good thing we get to keep trying.

  8. Chris Jones
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 09:16:19

    You will make it. You are not a quitter. You do not give up. Therefore, you will make it, because even in those moments when your back is to it, you always know where the sun shines.

    We love you and we pray for you.

  9. Melissa
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 22:02:06

    Man, I was relatively nice to my kids today, and that video still made me feel guilty. And bawl-y. But mostly just guilty.

    And yeah, I like that they have the mom pulling the baby’s hand out of the toilet – so universally motherhood.

  10. E
    Jul 04, 2010 @ 21:00:39

    Yep, all of the boys at prayer time was my favorite too.

Leave a Reply

