I’ve Forgotten How to Blog

I’d like to blog, I really would.  I’d like to have a long running consistently interesting, or at least not completely lame blog.  But I just … can’t.

I don’t remember how to do that, I don’t remember how to come up with blog posts.

It’s summer (obviously) and I occasionally want to blog about how if my kids don’t quit whining my head’s going to explode into a million pieces that they’ll have to be picking out of their hair for the next three weeks (after which I’m sure all memory of “that lady who yells at us all the time” will be gone) but since that’s the only thing I can ever think to blog about and it’s not all that interesting the first time around, never mind that once we head down that road and that’s all you get out of me.  So I don’t.

I’d post some sort of random list of things that I have going on at the moment, but when you haven’t blogged in 36 years it seems a little presumptuous to believe that anyone cares that you’re training of a 5K and you hate every minute of it, so I’m not doing that.

I could post some funny little anecdote about something that I saw the other day but that requires my having seen something funny (or being able to make up something funny, in the event that I didn’t mind lying to you) but I didn’t (and I’m not).

I could tell you my nursing school woes, for they are legion, but I’m sick of them and they’re stupid and long and involved and that post would be almost as boring as this post (it’s that really long one about how the call teams at work work and how I was so sick at work that I thought I was going to die and then they called int he guy and… see, I’m bored already) but without the interesting life saving story at the end, so I think I’ll skip that.

I could post about how I’m tired of being poor, but I still have a job, and Sean still has a job and in this economy…

I could post about the World Cup, but I’m not really watching.  I want to be but apparently I don’t want to be enough to, you know, actually be.

I could post about my new hair color, but I haven’t even dyed it since I went fire engine red (I’d link but I’m pretty sure that post is still on the front page) so now I’m sporting this sort of sickly grown out, faded pink chunks of hair look.  It’s not a  good look and yet I do nothing.

I used to always have things to post, funny (ok, amusing), interesting, informative (not really), things to post about but now… nothing.  I’ve forgotten how to blog.

The End.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 20:42:30

    You’re not the only one. And I check you anyway. I’m one of those old fashioned people who don’t have a blog reader that sends me posts every day, so I have to physically go to the blogs I like, and yours is the ONLY one I have on my favorites bar. So there.

  2. LisAway
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 05:59:30

    I’m right there with you. Exactly. I’ve gotten out of practice. I occasionally read back over some of my old posts, journal style, and think, oh yeah, I wrote whatever I wanted and mostly things I want to remember. I think my brain is just too taken up with family. And facebook, a little, too.

    Today was the kids’ last day of school and I am looking forward to trying to be organized and have activities for them to keep things fun. Annie’s last post was very inspirational.

  3. Annette
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 11:30:29

    It’s called the summer blahs. Hits us all. And I do miss reading your posts!

  4. madhousewife
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 18:35:40

    It’s the blogging blahs. The blahgs.

  5. Melanie J
    Jun 25, 2010 @ 19:10:36

    I feel you. You can’t blog because you’re not in a great place and I can’t blog because I’m feeling to complacent and I have no snark in me. Annette’s right. It’s just the summer blahs.

  6. Flipflopmama
    Jun 26, 2010 @ 21:46:45

    I like Mad’s description. I got it too.

  7. bythelbs
    Jun 27, 2010 @ 19:43:28

    Right there with you. And everyone else. I enjoyed the “if my kids don’t start whining my head’s going to explode” typo. At least I’m assuming it was a typo.

  8. Alison Wonderland
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 08:31:38

    Typo. Fixed. Thanks.

  9. Chris Jones
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 17:22:11

    You should be flattered. You don’t blog for a month, then you get 9 comments on your blog when you post a non-post, including one from our sister telling you that your blog is the only one she has on her favorites.

    I’ve given up.

Leave a Reply

