Experiments in Self Reliance

Our ward is having an activity this Saturday.  They’re calling it a “Quake ‘n’ Bake” and it’s focused on preparedness, we’re supposed to bring our 72 hour kits with us and a treat made from our food storage.

Leading up to this activity the bishop announced in sacrament meeting that he’d been making  some phone calls.  A handful of families in the ward would be chosen to “practice”.   Each was given an assignment something along the lines of pretending that there’s been a disaster and go three days without electricity, or live off your 72 hour kit for 72 hours or… well I don’t know what all.  Guess who got a phone call? (Odds are I wouldn’t be telling you about it if I hadn’t.)

Before we got the call we talked about the whole concept over dinner in an effort to prepare the kids, and we talked about what we would want to do, I was hoping for having to live off our savings for a week (we could totally do that) and what we really wouldn’t want, no electricity (just kill me now).  But realistically I was pretty sure I knew what, if anything, we’d get.  Our family was invited to spend this week living off our food storage.

Anything in the house is fine but no shopping.

But see, last week when I did the bills things were a little bit tight so when I went grocery shopping then I only bought the necessities (milk, bread, Eggos) so already the cupboards are a little bare.  And I unintentionally skimped on the milk purchase as it was so we’re already nearly out and we just finished off the lettuce for the salad for Sunday’s dinner and… well, there are lots of reasons why this week isn’t good.  If we had had a little notice (you know, like the folks in Haiti got before the earthquake) then we could have restocked a bit and, you know, filled both fridges with milk (and fresh veggies) but then I figured, what the heck, let’s see how bad it would really be.

It’s not like we don’t have a week’s worth of food.  We don’t have a year, but a week, sure, no problem as long as you like peanut butter, cold cereal (with *shudder* powdered milk) and spaghetti.

Needless to say, it’s going to be an interesting week.

How about you?  Want to try it?  Start today and don’t shop again until Monday.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dollie
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 12:43:04

    Ok you are on I will try it a week with you… too bad too because I was supposed to make lunch tomorrow for a friend but i guess i will get creative or we will have jelly sandwhiches (Sariah is allergic to nuts)… If i am being completely honest we don’t have powedered milk and of course i am preggers so I would rather have mcdonalds french fries and ice cream than anything else we have… good luck to you…

  2. LisAway
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 13:35:47

    milk bread and Eggos. Ha!

    I know you’re just trying to make me jealous because there are no frozen waffles over here and homemade just DO NOT taste like Eggos.

    I love this idea. You have to tell us how it goes. Your teeth should feel awesome with all that powdered milk. Mmmm.

  3. Flipflopmama
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 13:52:41

    Well considering I just bought two weeks worth of groceries on Saturday, I’m in! Not really though… Any other time I’m sure I would not survive. We do usually have lots of pasta anD canned goods though.

  4. Melanie J
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 15:54:40

    We’d be screwed, but I think the concept is pretty cool.

  5. bythelbs
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 17:08:17

    We’ve done this. The milk was our downfall, and I had not a smidge of guilt when we finally broke down and bought some. Not a smidge. Enjoy that cereal!

  6. bythelbs
    Apr 19, 2010 @ 17:09:16

    P.S. I’m pretty sure I’d eat my cereal dry before I put powdered milk on it. Just sayin’.

  7. madhousewife
    Apr 20, 2010 @ 12:47:10

    Yeah, I don’t need to play this game in order to know that my food storage is grossly inadequate and I am tempting fate to lay an earthquake or something similarly devastating on me. Thanks for yet another reminder.

  8. Ronald Poole
    Apr 21, 2010 @ 14:00:50

    This winter the power was off for 48 hrs., no warning just like earthquakes. Cellphone did not work because tower generator ran out of propane, 6 ft of snow to top of mountain to get to it. Found our oven requires electricity to turn it on and set temp. The generator was fueled up, and under the porch which we couldn’t get to because of the 6 ft. of snow, plus the extension cords were under 6 feet of snow in the front yard because I didn’t bring them in after I took the Christmas lights down. We survived quite fine. Will bring the generator on the back deck next winter with a dedicated extension cord, and buy a portable propane oven. Had plenty of food in the house, of course our years supply is in the unattached garage, electric garage door opener doesn’t work without electricity, and 6 ft. of snow that would come off the roof of the garage if I had to put my shoulder to the side door, which I would have had to-swollen from thje moisture. No access to years supply in otherwords. Had plenty of candles, and had a wood stove with a back deck loaded with firewood. Don’t want to do it again, but the Stake President and Bishop had both told us to get ready for a disaster and we did listen. Still have at least another years supply of firewood. Waiting until we can get our permits to go get more for next year.

  9. Janelle
    Apr 23, 2010 @ 09:56:13

    I am so interested in your update on how you do. I’m the Emergency Prep person in my ward.

    Did you mention water? Could you use tap water?

  10. Liz Robertson
    May 05, 2010 @ 09:38:48

    Sweet! Hahahaha! What were the other challenges? Update us!

    Why does our ward do the same obligatory Halloween dance year after year when we could do something different & educational?

Leave a Reply

