A Post That Has Nothing Whatsoever To Do With Death

Isn’t that a nice change?

A little while ago (Ok, I think it may have been October.  That’s not that long is it?), while grocery shopping, I bought a bag of Reese’s Pieces.

Before that purchase I don’t think I had a Piece of Reese’s in years. Several years.  And you know what I discovered?  Reese’s Pieces are delicious.  Really, really delicious.  So delicious, in fact, that I decided that Reese’s Pieces are the world’s most underrated candy.  They’re fantastic, small, easy to transport and pop right into your mouth (which may be a problem depending on the way you look at it) and did I mention that they’re really, really delicious?  And they never get their due.  M&M’s get plenty of attention because they’re chocolate, and there are all those variations (peanut, almost, peanut butter…) and … I’m not sure why.  Sure, they’re good but they’re no Reese’s pieces.  And then you have Skittles which are fruity and therefore fall into a completely different candy category.  However both of those candies get plenty of attention, but the Pieces, well, when was the last time you had a Piece?  When was the last time you even thought about Reese’s Pieces?  If they stopped making them would you even notice?

Now, don’t mistake me, I’m not saying that Reese’s Pieces are the best candies.  There’s plenty of candy out there that’s better (those Lindt balls that they have at the checkout at my Smith’s (in hazelnut) are a thing of wonder (and only 25 (or is it 33?) cents)) but everyone knows how amazing those candies are, you just don’t think about Reese’s Pieces.  And you really should.

What it all comes down to is that for my money (and Sean’s since he’s been good enough to keep me continually stocked since my October purchase), it’s Reese’s Pieces every time.

So how about you?  What’s the most underrated candy in your world?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jaime
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 12:55:27

    I feel like when we used to get a boatload of snacks to entertain ourselves on a Friday night that you always got Reese’s Pieces . . . maybe not.

    I think the Big Hunk is underrated although also a hazard for your teeth.

  2. evitafjord
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 13:04:06

    I love the Reese’s Pieces (perhaps I’m the one keeping them on the shelves, though they seem harder to find around here lately) – are Whatchamacallits an underrated candy? Cuz I love them but I don’t know if anyone else does. I’ve never seen anyone else eat one, but maybe that’s something people do in private. I guess I don’t really see anyone out and about eating other candy bars either. Ponderous.

  3. madhousewife
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 13:41:49

    I haven’t had Reese’s Pieces in a long time, but you’re right, they are delicious.

  4. flip flop mama
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 14:35:28

    The Piece is one of my favorite candies. When I was in High School I would buy one of those pound (?) bags..the big ones..and eat them at the movie theater. I could pretty much eat the whole bag. It’s been a while since I’ve had them though. I usually buy Peanut Butter M&M’s when I go to Target but I think next time I’ll buy me some Reese’s Pieces just to shake it up a bit.

  5. bythelbs
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 16:38:53

    Madhousewife introduced me to the Take5 bar. Take5 bars are delicious, and lately I haven’t been able to find them anywhere. It’s very distressing.

    I enjoy a good Piece now and then.

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 18:09:16

    You know what else is WONDERFUL about the Piece? It’s perfect combo between crunchy shell and uber-soft inner PB. And ET loved them, so…

  7. Sara H.
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 09:05:54

    Every day when we get home (around dinnertime), my little daughter walks over near the cabinet with Mommy’s candy stash, points to it, and says “More” to indicate that she wants Reese’s Pieces. The kid is addicted to them at 18 months old. At least I wait until after dinner to give her a few. This is not a good sign.

  8. Chris Jones, Lehi Utah
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 09:25:35

    Twix. But I don’t know if those are underrated.

    The best chocolate bar in the world is Ritter Sport Joghurt, though, and nobody knows it but me.

Leave a Reply

