Look What I Got!!!!

Happy Christmas everyone. How was your day?  Mine was fantastic!  It started the night before with a special gift from my husband (that is none of your business) and then we had a great Christmas in which none of my kids cried because they didn’t get what they wanted.  They did not cry because what their brother, sister, aunt, uncle, cousin, or random stranger got was better than what they got.  They didn’t cry because they didn’t get the thing they’ve always wanted (never mind the fact that they didn’t bother to put it on any list anywhere an only bothered to mention it to their mother at 6:30 on Christmas eve.  They didn’t even cry because it was someone else’s turn to open presents.  (There may have been one incidence of crying related to some hitting and a disagreement over a toy gun but really folks, that’s nothing.)  See, look at the joy:

The Princess (Yes, they’re all wearing the same pajamas, because I made them.  How cute is that?!)

Now I know that we’re supposed to focus on what we gave and on the time spent with family blah blah blah, but I got the coolest gift for Christmas and right now that’s what I’d prefer to focus on.

See, I got my book.  Published.

It turns out that my father and my brother are crazy (I understand that my sister may have been in on it as well)  and they decided to publish my book for me.  So they edited and formatted and designed a cover and all the other stuff that you do when you’re publishing a book (with the exception of notifying and getting input from the author for obvious reasons) and then they published it.  Look how cool it looks:

Only, you know, with a lot less glare.

But COME ON, you have to admit, that’s a cool gift.

So how as your Christmas? Did you get what you wanted?  What you didn’t even know you wanted?  Because if not, I’m told that there are a few copies left from the big first printing run (of ten copies) I could probably even get the author to sign it for you.  Heck, I think I’m going to buy one.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina P.
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 13:04:24

    That is so, so cool! I got a major strain in my neck. Awesome.

  2. Julie
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 13:15:31

    I got Wusthof knives. I’ve never been happier to get back to Utah so I can cut things.

  3. Migillicutty
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 13:34:20

    Cool! Holly Hanberg is your pen name, then?

  4. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 14:50:51

    I am going to need one of those…you know how much I loved reading your book before it was even all fancy and published! Let me know if there’s one left, okay?

  5. Jami
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 15:44:08

    Very, very, very cool present. Maybe the coolest gift ever. Merry Christmas!

  6. flip flop mama
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 17:25:11

    I want a copy.

  7. E
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 17:52:34

    You made them matching pajamas??!!!!!

    Since when do you sew? And also WHEN do you sew? In all your free time between building things in your house, going to school and working full time? I’m seriously baffled.

  8. Melanie J
    Dec 26, 2009 @ 18:50:04

    That’s one of the best ideas I’ve ever seen for giving to a writer. Super cool!

  9. Susan M
    Dec 27, 2009 @ 10:12:41

    That is so cool! What a great gift.

    My parents got me a new laptop. I am STOKED.

  10. melissa bastow
    Dec 29, 2009 @ 18:00:56

    That is an AWESOME gift. It’s cool that your family is all plugged in and cares and stuff. I wrote my kids each a little geeky book for Christmas and my family didn’t even want to look at them, let alone put forth effort to publish one of them…. You are very lucky (and that also goes for the no crying on Christmas thing!)

  11. bythelbs
    Jan 02, 2010 @ 17:11:37

    Um, I’m going to need a signed copy. Seriously.

  12. Trackback: Blogging? What’s that? « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

