Mom of the Year

I have long thought that it was not a coincidence that a church that encourages big families doesn’t allow alcohol.

(I would have started drinking early today friends, really, really early.)

I’m not sure I’m going to make it to Christmas.

And now, in the interest of not writing a completely downer post, here are some pictures of the Baby with his birthday presents (these photos were all taken in the upstairs hallway because the Princess was confined to her room for the day but we didn’t want her to completely miss the festivities):

(That’s right, I bought him tools.  He couldn’t be happier.)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smee
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 08:53:17

    When I had kids the age of yours I anticipated a RS craft night wherein we would cross stitch pillows with the phrase: “There’s a reason mothers in the wild eat their young.” (either that or the old stand by, “There is beauty all around, when there’s no one home.”) Never happened.

    hmmm, Now *I’m* the gal who makes these decisions…. Guess what mini class *we’ll* be doing at the next Super Saturday? : )

    That’s one cute -and happy- kid you got there.

  2. E
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 12:47:01

    Our mother had a cross stitch that said “May God grant me the courage to endure my blessings.”

  3. E
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 12:47:58

    Not courage, patience….anyway.

  4. LisAway
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 12:50:59

    Oh! Now he can be just like mom. But I have to say the baby doesn’t look much like a baby!

    Totally hear you on the drinking.

  5. bythelbs
    Dec 08, 2009 @ 18:46:44

    I’m having a lot of those MOTY moments lately. A lot. Which means it must be Christmas time!!!

    The baby looks overjoyed.

  6. Sara H.
    Dec 09, 2009 @ 14:17:43

    We’re not supposed to drink? Oh, snap. (clearly joking)
    It’s not my kid that drives me to consider the potentially blissful drowning of sorrows – it is my idiot boss (and sometimes equally moronic staff). My child is a gem compared to those clowns, but then again, she’s only one child.

  7. Melissa Bastow
    Dec 17, 2009 @ 13:49:43

    Is it funny, or really sad, that I was also seriously thinking about the drinking thing just yesterday?

    I just turn to M&M’s and Doritos instead.

Leave a Reply

