Goals and Resolutions

First the goal:  I’m going to do Christmas for $1000 or less.  That’s all of Christmas, kids, cousins, in-laws, neighbors, even Sean and I.  No more than a grand.

For some of you (even some of you who have 8 kids) that may be no big deal.  maybe you do Christmas for less than that every year maybe you’re all about the handmade.  Well here in the Wonderland that’s not exactly how it’s been.  But look at us now.  It’s going to be great!  (No really, as soon as you give me some fantastic ideas it’s going to be awesome.)

And now despite the goal, here’s the resolution:  This year I’m going to say yes every time.  Every time I check out and I’m asked if I want to donate to St. Jude’s or the Children’s Miracle Network or Ned Thompson’s Money Round Up, I’m going to say yes.  If I pass a bell ringer I’m going to put some money in.  And if I don’t have any cash on the way in (because I NEVER have cash) you’d better believe that I’m going to get some so I have some on the way out.  If I read your blog and you ask me to donate to something, I’m going to donate.  I’m going to donate EVERY TIME.  Because I want to.

The sentiment may sound familiar for those of you who read my 100 coats post but here’s a quote to prove that it’s not just me who feels this way:

“I am afraid the only safe rule is to give more than we can spare…If our charities do not at all pinch or hamper us,… they are too small.  There ought to be things we should like to do and cannot do because our charitable expenditures exclude them.”  –C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

Oh and for those of you who are looking to give away some of your hard earned cash, I know a gal who needs it (you can even get some tamales out of the deal if you’re into that kind of thing.)

PS. The quote was ripped off my brother’s blog.  (I wouldn’t want to be accused of blog plagiarism.)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan M
    Dec 04, 2009 @ 20:34:47

    I made it a point to donate at every grocery store checkout that asks for a donation, starting a couple months ago. Then my husband lost his job. Ha.

  2. Stephanie Black
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 16:03:00

    Enjoyed your blog. Great resolution!

  3. madhousewife
    Dec 07, 2009 @ 12:23:51

    That is a great goal. I wonder if it is too late for me to adopt it as my own. Actually, I like to think that we don’t spend that much on gifts, but it’s the food that really puts us over the top. We spend way too much money on food. Except wait, there is no such thing.

    Your resolution is also great. That much I can do. Divesting myself of my money is a talent of mine. I may as well use it for good.

  4. Sue
    Dec 22, 2009 @ 22:36:55

    I love that quote so very much.

Leave a Reply

