Once upon a time…

I was in college.  No, not this time that I was in college.  Not the last time either.  Or the time before that.  (It occurs to me that I’ve spent far FAR too much time in college for someone who doesn’t even have an associate’s degree.)  That’s not the point.  The point is that once upon a time, about 12 years ago, I took a class at BYU and it was really interesting and all, but the day I remember the best was the day the professor auctioned off a box of donuts.  It was just a regular box of a dozen donuts.  Assorted varieties, I believe.  He started the bidding at somewhere around a dollar and if I remember correctly the winner ended up spending somewhere in the neighborhood of $300 for the donuts.

Now I’m sure the lesson went on to have some kind of supply and demand or mob mentality or some other such lesson to it, but I really remember it because the money was going to charity and after collecting the winner’s $300 the professor sent a hat (or something) around the room to collect more money.

It was about this time of year and he pointed out that it was getting cold and that we as college students, even though we really liked to refer to ourselves as starving college students, were far from being truly needy and that we had a responsibility to give.

I gave $100.

I didn’t really have a hundred bucks to give (I was paying my own way through school after all) but there were people out there who noticed everyday how little they had and the least I could do was give enough so that I would notice a little bit.

And I resolved to do that every year, to give enough that I noticed.

I haven’t always kept that resolve.  But this year I’m going to.  Or at least I’m going to make a point of giving.

And it’s been made really easy for me.  For those of you who don’t read Sue (as if there are people who don’t read Sue) there’s a call in the bloggy community for coats for refugees living in Utah.  Now honestly I had no idea that we had refugees living in Utah  never mind enough that we needed to hold a drive to get them coats.  I would have guessed that a “drive” to get them coats would have been more along the lines of a drive to Walmart to pick up two or three coats.  But I digress (can you believe it?)  The point is that there’s a call for 100 coats and I’m going to buy one (or two, or…) and you should too.

You can click on the graphic above for more information or just go online and buy a coat (or two or three or…) and have it (them) shipped to:

Gayane Manukyan
Att: 100 Coats for Kids Project
Refugee Center at AAU
1588 South Major Street
Salt Lake City, Utah 84115

or you can go to the store and buy some coats and ship them there, or you can go through your closets and find some coats that are still good and ship them, or if you’re in the greater Salt Lake area you can drop them off, or you could go online and buy gift-cards and have them sent to the shelter and they can buy their own coats or whatever else they may need, or you can do something completely unrelated to coats and or refugees (or you can do nothing at all, it’s a free country) the point is that you really really ought to do something and if you can’t do something at this time of year, well I’m not going to say that you’re dead inside and you deserve exactly what you get but… Oh heck. Yes.  Yes, I am.

If you can’t even bring yourself to give at this time of year you ARE dead inside and you DO deserve exactly what you get.

PS. I mean that deserving what you get on an eternal scale and I’m here to tell you that if you don’t give, then when you’re standing before your maker trying to justify yourself, well, it ain’t going to be pretty my friend, it ain’t going to be pretty.

PPS. On a completely unrelated note, Catherine, were you that Catherine that corrected Sue on the words to “Give Said…”?  I was totally going to do that, but then I saw that comment and you rock my world.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 10:40:55

    Alison – thank you so much for this – the post and the coats and the passion. A month or two ago the women in my book club met with Amy Wylie, who helps coordinate refugee volunteerism in Salt Lake City, and you wouldn’t believe how much need there is. (We’d been reading a bunch of books that made us feel like we had to get off of our lazy duffs and actually DO something – like Three Cups of Tea) There are families in our midst who’ve been through hell and back. They come to the US from refugee camps, not even knowing how to use a toilet or a refrigerator. The snow and the cold is a shocking new reality for a lot of them. Thank you, seriously.

  2. Catherine
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 11:50:35

    Yes, it was me. I hope she doesn’t think I’m a freak. I very well may be, but I don’t want people to know.

  3. Jami
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 13:25:13

    Your post about the coat drive is way more exciting than mine. Just sayin’.

  4. Sue
    Nov 16, 2009 @ 14:02:20

    Catherine – You’re not a freak. My mom actually called me to say the same thing. It really bothered her that I didn’t immediately change it. Hee.

  5. Jen
    Nov 21, 2009 @ 21:02:59

    Long time no comment, but it’s good to see you too! And I’ll d my best to give. I promise.

  6. Trackback: Goals and Resolutions « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

