Oh, You Wanted Something Permanent?

I got some comments with my last post that cereal (two FULL bags of cereal that I BOUGHT!) wasn’t really that big of a deal, it wasn’t permanent after all, it could just be vacuumed up (and by “just” here we mean with at least three separate vacuumings.)

And so, for your viewing pleasure, I give you the Sharpie artwork: (All artwork was produced by the Baby.)

102_1371 102_1372 102_1374 Yes, that’s Sharpie on the carpet too. 102_1375 102_1376 And on the carpet there. 102_1377 102_1379 102_1381

And that’s just the walls (and carpet) there’s also this: 102_1380 this:102_1370

and this:102_1383 And these: 102_1384 102_1385 And my personal favorite, the hearth:102_1382

I just don’t bother to get mad about the Sharpie anymore.

No, I don’t just have markers lying around the house all the time, 90% of the time I can not figure out where he got the marker that he’s using, but if there’s one in the building he’ll find it (last week he found 2 (TWO!) within the first five minutes of being in church.)

P.S. All walls with Sharpie on them were painted within the last year.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythelbs
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 10:32:58

    That’s a pretty thorough job. Well, if you’re going to do something, best go all the way! That’s an attitude that will serve him well in the future. And probably continue to screw you over. Ah well, such is motherhood.

  2. julie
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 10:49:10

    wow . I can’t believe that work with a sharpie …I totally understand kids and making messes.

  3. Julie
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 11:07:08

    Yeah, that’s permanent. Suckish, I say, Suckish.

  4. smee
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 11:19:06

    holy holy.

    yup. my niece decided that the (ridiculously expensive -saved for three yrs to get it) wall paper (that had only been up for 3-4 days) needed to be coloured with red crayola. I wanted to kill her. oy.

    she’s all grown up and married and yes, i’m over it…i think, well at least i’m trying.

    Satan’s
    Hand
    Artistically
    Ruining
    People’s
    Interior/
    Exterior
    Stuff

  5. Kristina
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 11:40:10

    Yeah, this is excellent birth control.

  6. tiffany
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 12:36:05

    OH my goodness. I would be freaking out and throwing things and turning into rage mommy.

    So so sad for you and your furniture, carpet, walls, tile, ect.

    Kids are hard huh.

  7. Evitafjord
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 12:36:42

    I’ve had 2 with that magnetic way about them. Not exclusive to Sharpies, but anything they could use to decorate the space. I could search high and low for a pen, turn around and they’d be scribbling on the wall with one. In other words, my house looks just like yours and most of it from the youngest since we’ve only been here 3-1/2 years, though a couple of the older ones have been known to join in with him thinking that they could get away with blaming it on him. They don’t realize that their artwork is instantly recognizable depending on how detailed the faces are.

  8. Jillybean
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 12:40:27

    Did you ever think of getting him some paper to color on?

    ;0)
    Just kidding, I’m sure that you have reams full of paper that he hasn’t touched because the walls/carpet/furniture are so much more fun to color on.

    Were you aware that you can go to crayola.com and they have a page on stain removal. You enter the medium used and the surface it has been used on and it will tell you how to remove the stain!
    Except for permanent marker, it basically says that it won’t come off because it was meant to be permanent.

  9. Jami
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 13:05:45

    I feel your pain. My baby has just (knock on wood) outgrown this stage. I’ve repainted the living room, but the playroom…oh the pain. That needs sanding or something first.

    I’ve learned that perfume’s actually pretty good at getting ballpoint off of leather, but useless on Sharpie. Evil Sharpie.

  10. cheryl
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 14:48:32

    Oh, fine. Fine, then! 😉

    This is why sharpies should be banned from the planet.

  11. flip flop mama
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 15:33:12

    Oh. My.

  12. madhousewife
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 19:17:02

    My daughter scribbled all over our hardwood floor with a Sharpie, but I got it off with Melaleuca oil. I don’t know how many other surfaces it would work on, but I for one was impressed.

    In general, one should pretty much expect their house and belongings to be destroyed if there are children under, say, 10 living there.

  13. Janelle
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 21:32:04

    I have sharpie all over my house. I’ve found hairspray and sunblock work well.

    Sorry.

  14. Melanie J
    Oct 27, 2009 @ 12:34:11

    Aaaaaaaaah! I’m having Sharpie flashbacks!

  15. Chris Jones
    Oct 29, 2009 @ 11:13:56

    Holy cats. I can’t compete with that. I have EIGHT, and….nah. Nothing. I got nothing.

  16. Susan M
    Nov 04, 2009 @ 15:20:52

    Looks like a graffiti artist in the making. Does he dress like this?

    http://www.ci.santa-ana.ca.us/pd/documents/Tagger.pdf

  17. dollie
    Nov 05, 2009 @ 20:56:44

    I am sorry 😦

  18. Amanda-Lee
    Nov 06, 2009 @ 15:10:51

    ahahahaha, your kids are CLASSIC, i remember when my cousin and i were given permanent markers, and our table got a makeover…but that is just wow…

  19. AlisonH
    Nov 14, 2009 @ 15:46:14

    Wow.

    My kids once got fabric paint on the bathroom cabinet, and it didn’t come out till that cabinet did while we were remodeling. SO. One of my kids’ friends was moving, gave her a box of stuff, and in it was, you guessed it.

    Which I promptly threw out.

    Which the garbage men dropped out of the trash can while emptying it–just that one thing. Of course.

    Which I found out when I pulled in my driveway and, with the windows up, the car running, and me being hearing impaired (!!!), I STILL heard when my tire hit that 4 oz tube and it exploded across the front of my beige house.

    In bright red.

Leave a Reply

