Hey, Give Me a Break, I Wasn’t a Boy Scout

My brother got re-baptized last night.   I’m told it went great.  I don’t know, I wasn’t there.

I did intend to be there but , well, part of it was my fault.  I got the email from my brother and I read far enough to see that there was an address and at that point I stopped reading so I didn’t realize that the address included a street name rather than a number and that the stake center would probably require actual directions (which were offered for the low low price of a return email) rather than the ability to navigate the streets of Lehi (which I learned last night is not easy as the streets which should run north-south don’t).  So I didn’t know where we were going.

And then we left a little late.  Not very late, not even late enough to really be late just past the time I like to have for a cushion.

And the traffic was unbelievable.  I don’t usually have a lot of sympathy for people who don’t take traffic into account.  I mean come on, there’s always traffic right?  But I didn’t really expect it at 6:30 on a Friday night.  (I think I failed to take the fact that it’s conference weekend so all those crazy mormons are getting out of town into account.)

So we left late(ish) and we didn’t know where we were going.  That still wouldn’t have been too big of a deal for most of you.  But Sean and I are not most of you and even with two of us there was not a phone to be found.  Not that a phone would have done us a lot of good considering the fact that neither of us have any more minutes on our prepaid phone plans (yes, I realize that the only people who have prepaid phone plans are 6th graders, shut up).

So we made it to Lehi (finally) about 15 minutes after the baptism was supposed to start and it was just about at that point that the Baby woke up and proceeded to do a surprisingly accurate impression of a Nazgul screaming (You know that scream your baby can do where you think the your skull may actually crack open and your brain, which has been converted to a liquid form by the sound waves, will come pouring out your eye sockets?  That’s the one.)  So we drove around, not lost exactly but unable to find where we were going, with the nazgul screaming for about 25 minutes at which point I was ready to give up (we had surely missed the baptism anyway) but I was not going to drive all the way home with the Baby screaming like that.

So we decided to go to my other brother, Chris’s.  He was surely not home (he was the one performing the baptism afterall) but knowing him as I do, I knew that the house would not be locked and he would be delighted to be of assistance (especially when it required nothing on his part).

So we went to Chris’s house and as expected  the front door was not locked.  Open entering the house I noticed that someone had burnt dinner and that there were mattresses in the entryway (I never did get an explanation for that one, but he does have 8 kids so I guess I can come up with one on my own).  Proceeding into the house the smell of burning increased and I was thinking that whoever burnt dinner had done a really through job of it.  And then I got to the kitchen where I found my self crunching on a lot or debris.  Now, as I mentioned, Chris has 8 kids so debris on the kitchen floor is not unexpected (especially when I , as a guest am unexpected) but this took “I need to sweep the floor” to a whole other level.  And then I realized that it was glass on the floor oh and that there was the remnants of a pan of chocolate chip cookie bars smoking on the stove.

Apparently, the chocolate chip cookies that had been made for the reception after the baptism, and then left at home, had been left on a burner on the stove that had been left on.  The pyrex pan that had held the cookie bars had exploded at some point before my entrance on the scene and the remaining cookie on the stove was making an attempt at  going up in flames.

So I’m not saying that the Lord made me do it (you know, be late and unprepared) but well, it may not have been the devil either.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. karen
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 12:44:11

    Cool story!! I know someone upstairs had a hand in that!

  2. Jami
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 12:46:14

    Oh wow! What a blessing to have your schedule get so messed up that you end up keeping his house from burning down.

  3. Jami
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 12:46:41

    And congrats on your brother’s baptism.

  4. Annette
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 17:22:58

    Friday night was also a BYU game–I’m guessing that was the primary reason for the heinous traffic.

    I was late to my cousin’s wedding by 15 minutes because my sister and I were chatting it up so much in the car we missed the exit. Whoops. We didn’t even have traffic and an address problem as an excuse.

  5. E
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 19:04:48

    Yeah, it was the BYU v. USU game causing the traffic. But no matter what, we’re glad that you saved the house. And if anyone is entitled to divine intervention to keep their house from being burned down it is Chris and Jeanette.

    It was a good day.

  6. cheryl
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 19:38:51

    I love stories like this.

    And hey, congrats to your brother! That’s some good stuff, right there…

  7. rita
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 20:53:55

    wow. oh yeah, and…Holy Cow!

  8. chrisjonesgroup
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 21:20:22

    There are two things in that house I would have been sad to lose: my Pedersoli replica flintlock musket, and the external hard drive that has all the stuff my family has ever written and every picture we’ve ever taken. Oh, and the quilt Melanie made us.

    Had you not called me at about the point that our father was restoring the Gift of the Holy Ghost (being in the circle at the time, answering was problematic), I would probably have told you to let the house burn. After you got that stuff out, of course.

    In all seriousness, I’m grateful that you saved my house. It’s a miracle of wholly irrational proportions. And you are the angel that gave us a new life.

  9. flip flop mama
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 21:49:48

    Good thing you were late and lost!

  10. Jillybean
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 21:57:21

    I was all ready to tell you to get a GPS system or Onstar turn by turn navigation but it sounds like things turned out like they were supposed to.

  11. bythelbs
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 07:53:12

    Mysterious ways. Awesome.

    I’m a little curious about the mattresses.

  12. madhousewife
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 08:59:33

    Great story. I love it when houses don’t burn down.

  13. LisAway
    Oct 06, 2009 @ 12:13:59

    From now on I’m not taking my phone with me anywhere and we’re keeping the GPS off and we’re going to leave the house later than we mean to. Oh wait, we’ve already got that last one down to an art.

    What a cool story. I think I know what the mattresses were there for: so everything would burn even faster. So it was even MORE important that you ended up there.

    Shame about the cookie bars, though.

Leave a Reply

