Step Away From the Mouse

I won again.

This time it’s a good thing.  The Baby has learned to climb out of his crib and the resultant lack of sleep is doing bad things to all of us (not to mention that that kid has to be watched every second and now I can’t even relax at nights and naptimes) so I bid on, and won, a tent for the crib that should keep him in.  So that’s a positive.

But while I was on eBay’s site I figured I might as well look at belay devices.  You know, not that I’m going to buy one or anything, just to look right?

Will you look at that that some guy is selling two of them and the bidding’s only to $10.50.  $10.50! FOR TWO?!?  That’s a sensational price!  They’re $20 easy on their own.  How can I pass that up?

Apparently I can’t.  I bid on that one too (the auction closes at 11:00 tonight so here’s hoping).

And then maybe I’ll look at ropes.  I didn’t buy any but… well, it’s pretty tempting.  And then there’s the shoes (I have an email in to a girl selling on craig’s list) and carabiners and the quickdraws and SERIOUSLY WILL SOMEONE PLEASE GET ME AWAY FROM THE FREAKING COMPUTER!!!!!

On a related note I did send a note to the harness seller asking if she would could down on the price.  She said that she couldn’t, that it really would cost her about that much and she’d only make $1 or $2 on the deal.  (She also said something about the postmaster at her post office having made her husband open a package once to prove that it was media so that he could send it media mail.  Is that even legal?)  Anyway, the thing about postage is that the receiver always knows what the sender spent.  And in this case, with the $15 that I paid her to send my harness she spent $6.45.  So she really only made $1 or $2 or $8.50 on the shipping (and that’s considerable when you take into account the fact that I only paid $24.99 for the thing).  Whatever.  Maybe it’ll teach me to pay closer attention in the future.

Speaking of, I wonder what the belay devices are going to cost to ship???

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Migillicutty
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 14:18:27

    You seriously didn’t check the shipping on the belay devices before you bid?!!?? That is funny.

  2. Annette
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 14:37:31

    Maybe the third time will be the charm?

  3. Jami
    Sep 17, 2009 @ 21:47:45

    Crib tents, backed up with a set of safety pens, have saved my kids and my sanity many times.

    Yeah, those shipping charges on ebay can kill. (Just buy a scale people and stop guesstimating!)

  4. annie valentine
    Sep 24, 2009 @ 13:51:01

    I swear I’m not copying you when I post my bit about ebay, but this is my week exactly. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

