Waxing Rhapsodic

I have that feeling again.  That fragile, scrubbed clean, wistful feeling you get when you reach the end of another life, the conclusion, or is it just the beginning? of another story.  I’m restless and tired and the edges of my vision seem to have shifted slightly as if the color has suddenly taken on another texture, the air a slightly different and unfamiliar shape.

I get this every time I finish reading another book but at some times it’s more pronounced than others.  Mostly the spectrum is controlled by the depth of the book, the deeper the book the deeper the shift in my reality.  Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos has produced a slight ache somewhere in the vicinity of my creativity.  I long to write.  To write something, anything but preferably something beautiful and moving and pregnant with meaning and possibility where a pause in conversation or the shifting of one’s weight, the most innocuous movement that in real life, at least in my life, would go completely unnoticed is heavy with import and opens vistas of insight.

I wonder when I read books like this if people really see the world this way?  Are there people who really read the body language of the people around them this closely? Never mind baking a chicken “filling (the)… house with it’s gold tinged aroma”?  Am I somehow the only one who doesn’t see these things?

But I do when I read books like this and maybe with practice I can, at least occasionally, when I’m looking at my life rather than at a book.   I really need to work on that.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bythelbs
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 23:01:39

    See, I read this and think, “How do people write like this?”

  2. Melanie J
    Sep 02, 2009 @ 23:09:46

    Wow, A. Fantastic post.

  3. Annette
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 07:25:38

    And I think, “Dang, I’ll never write this well. I bow to their greatness.” Then walk around in a literary stupor.

  4. tawnya
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 08:31:51

    I’m right there with you…

  5. cheryl
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 09:58:19

    I could have written this. And all I can think right now is “YES! Alison gets it.”
    Annette, I totally agree. Except for the part that I haven’t ever finished anything, let alone had anything published! But that is neither here nor there…

  6. Chris Jones
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 21:53:08

    Nice, gal. This is good stuff. Can I quote you?

  7. madhousewife
    Sep 05, 2009 @ 18:23:10

    Writers probably shouldn’t read so much.

  8. annie valentine
    Sep 08, 2009 @ 10:28:36

    And this is why I read mindless vampire books. Saving my brain cells, one book at a time.

  9. Janelle
    Sep 09, 2009 @ 22:54:11

    I lamented my lack of writing talent just yesterday. And then again, when I read this post.

Leave a Reply

