Meet the Mental Company

I”m not sure if it’s summer doldrums or something about the air quality this time of year but my thoughts are again turning to writing.   It was a bout this time of year four years ago that I wrote On the Table and it kind of seems like I get this every summer, NaNoWriMo be darned (this is a family blog afterall) , it’s August for me.

This year I tell myself repeatedly that I don’t have time to start writing a novel, I’m going back to school in two weeks  for heaven’s sake!  And I don’t.  But these people keep walking around in my head.

So I thought I’d introduce you.

I have a whole cast of characters for a fantasy novel wandering around.  Most are unnamed as of this point but there’s the leader of the band of thieves who’s bored because nothing’s a challenge anymore.  There’s no rival as far as thieves go, and running the gang is boring, and weirdly administrative and not the slightest bit interesting.  So she’s looking for the next big score.

Then there’s the farm boy, his village has been razed, he was the only survivor and he’s now going to find his brother who left home before he was born, because he needs someone to take care of him afterall.

There’s the serving girl that the farm boy runs into early in his journey, she’s a guardian, some kind of rare something (genetic mutation? religious sect?  I’m not sure yet) who are compelled to guard their charges (as selected by the universe) her charge is the farm boy.  She’s not happy about it.  But it’s a good thing for him because he’d be toast without her.

Then, of course, there’s the wicked despot (a fantasy book just wouldn’t be a fantasy book without a wicked despot) he used to be the general but he staged a coup about a year ago and now he’s running the country into the ground.

Never fear, our band of miss-matched and reluctant warriors is here…

There’s more to it of course but hey, I might actually write it one day, I don’t want to give  away too much.

Then there’s the light and fluffy beach book.  None of these characters have names either (apparently those come later) but our heroine is some kind of Hollywood personal assistant, aspiring actress? something who runs into the current Hollywood heartthrob.  She disdains his advances, something he’s unused to, the usual wackiness ensues…

Nothing ground breaking there but I think it would be fun to write.

Too bad I can’t write it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melanie J
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 15:37:42

    The YA one sounds like my cup of herbal tea. You SHOULD write it. You know, when you get two seconds to breathe plus maybe two more to write.

  2. Kristina P.
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 16:28:56

    Can I be the lead, wearing a Snuggie?

  3. Annette
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 17:02:37

    Get thee an AlphaSmart Neo. Then you can write snippets here and there on the run. Snippets turn into paragraphs, which turn into chapters, which turn into novels.

    Tada!

    I’m dead serious. It’s how I’ve gotten several of my books written.

  4. Julie
    Aug 10, 2009 @ 18:33:21

    They both sound like fun reads. Really.

  5. Susan M
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 07:28:13

    You are really creative. Love your ideas. I’ve got to read your book sometime, I’ve been meaning to ask you about it. I’ve just got other stuff I need to read first (my sil wrote a YA novel and I’ve been reading it out loud to my husband).

  6. bythelbs
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 09:45:05

    I have nothing walking around in my head.

    I hope you find time to write again. I enjoy your stuff.

  7. LisAway
    Aug 11, 2009 @ 23:31:16

    Look at you! Too creative for your own good. I’ll read both, thanks.

    And maybe the farm boy was raised in the village, but I doubt the village was ever raised. It might have been razed, though. (couldn’t resist 😛 )

  8. Melissa
    Aug 12, 2009 @ 22:41:08

    I started writing a fluffy beach book – – but it’s not finishing itself, which is really frustrating…

Leave a Reply

