Outdoorsy Hijinks (As Promised)

Saturday, just after noon Sean and I loaded up the kids and the gear, as an aside can I just ask why SO MUCH gear is necessary?  Honestly, we were planning on one night and we had the back of the van full and then more stuff on the floor in front of the little kids and then more stuff packed in next to the bigger kids and then, MORE stuff on the floor in front of me and then… Anyway, it’s ridiculous.  So we loaded up the kids and the gear and headed up big cottonwood canyon to spruces campground.  By the time we got there, at 1:00ish on a Saturday afternoon I was afraid that there wouldn’t be any good sites left.  But there were and we got an amazing site right in the middle of the campground but weirdly all alone.  We had a ton of space and there were little trails and creeks (pronounced cricks, of course) and it was great.

So we got everything all set up and had some lunch and the kids ran around on the trails and “accidentally” stepped and then fell into the creeks (cricks)  and by about 3:45 I was sleepy (The fact that I had stayed up until 1:30 the night before my have contributed to my fatigue but I doubt it).  So I asked Sean if he minded keeping an eye on the kidlets while I had a little lie down.  He did mind (I know I would have) but he told me to go anyway (isn’t he great?) so I went to the tent to have my little lie down.  roughly half an hour later I was awoken by a crash.  For a moment I was stunned first because I didn’t know that I had fallen asleep and then because my face really hurt.  I sat up to feel blood streaming down my face and more pain.

The lantern that I had hung in the center of the tent when setting up our little home away from home had fallen from its hook, landing, and near as I can tell, right between my eyes.

I had a cut, a pretty good deep one, just above my right eye, another on the right side of my nose and for a little while there I thought my nose was broken.

We got me cleaned up and looked at the cut trying to decide if it needed stitches, or maybe just a butterfly only there were no butterflies in the stupid first aid kit that we had. We looked around to make sure that we hadn’t missed any injuries and then I decided to drive down to my hospital (it was only about 20 minutes away after all) and at least get some more, better supplies, at best get someone to sew me up.

Well, I didn’t get anyone to sew me up but I did get some glue and a steri-strip and some ibuprofen.  I decided that my nose wasn’t broken despite the audible crunching of cartilage (it was only the septum and there’s nothing they can do about that anyway) and headed back up to the campsite.

Where we had dinner and s’mores and went to bed and got up and look at that, I’m fine.  (Although sadly, I’m not sure that I’ll be able to get the blood out of my Death Cab for Cutie t-shirt.  And the lantern is broken and probably not salvageable.)

But given the fact that I now have this head lac and a nose lac and a swollen nose and my left eye is black (well, ok, not black but blueish) and I walked around all week last week with a goose egg and then a bruise and then a yellow and green fading bruise (that’s when they really look the best, I think ) on my forehead (I walked into my front door, I swear it)  I’m waiting for someone to sit me down and tell me that I don’t have to stay with an abuser.

Oh and the kids had a great time.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Jul 12, 2009 @ 17:59:01

    I gasped when I read that it hit you! This is what I always say. I like the idea of camping. I am always excited, until I actually get there and can’t sleep and wish I were dead.

  2. LisAway
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 07:06:05

    Oh my gosh. You’re such a trooper. After reading the first part of the post I was going to do nothing but be mad at you for mentioning cottonwood canyon and camp sites and cricks and everything, just like the rest of us have access, too (especially the camp sites. Here you have a large field of grass where everyone pitches their tents right next to each other and there are yucky bathrooms nearby.)

    But then I read the other parts and felt surprised and stunned and decided to forgive you.

  3. bythelbs
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 10:33:23

    Man. Oh man. And you went back to the camping! Amazing.

    Soak DCFC in some oxi-clean. The blood will come out. I almost promise.

  4. Melanie J
    Jul 13, 2009 @ 14:43:38

    Whoa. You are HARD CORE. I can’t believe you went back. I would have been like, “All right, kids. Pack it in. You’re camping in the living room instead!”

  5. Julie
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 07:35:57

    Ok, that’s awful! And totally explains the “I got in a car crash” look last night. I was incredibly curious to know what happened but was trying my hardest to be polite. Holy moly – glad you’re ok. And not recovering from some big car crash.

  6. JIllybean
    Jul 26, 2009 @ 19:34:02

    I will use this as another reason why I don’t go camping.

    “I might get hit on the face by a falling lantern.”

    And hydrogen peroxide will take that blood right out. My son had blood stains on his shirt from the time he didn’t listen to me when I told him not to lean on the screen door and it broke, sending him chin first onto the patio. (4 stitches) I washed it several times and the blood still didn’t come out, then I used the hydrogen peroxide on the stains and you can’t even tell there was ever a blood stain on the shirt.
    It does not, however, work on spaghetti sauce stains.

  7. Trackback: Today Alison Wonderland is: « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

