Ketchup

You may or may not have noticed but the economy isn’t great.  People are losing jobs and taking pay cuts and losing benefits and just generally facing financial difficulties.  Well, we here in the Wonderland were feeling a little left out.  I mean Sean and I both still have jobs, heck, we were even saving a little money, but don’t worry about it, we found a way to join the rest of the country in financial trouble.

In the last 2 months Sean has had carpal tunnel surgery on both his wrists, first one and then a month later, the other.  Of course we didn’t realize until after the second surgery that because of some mix ups on his checks last September that were fixed but not fixed correctly, he’s not going to get paid for any of the time that he’s off recovering from surgery.  Let me tell you how excited I am to spend the next little while (and by little while I mean months probably) fighting with one of the biggest corporations in Utah (but don’t worry, they don’t hold a monopoly) over our money.  But I’m prepared.  I have spreadsheets.  It’s going to be a good time!

In other news- The Tour is on!!!!  I know that virtually none of you care even a little bit about pro cycling (except for you D) but I’m telling you, the tour de France is freaking awesome!  Viva le tour!

The Wonderlander’s are going camping this weekend, expect tales of outdoorsy hijinks to follow.

I’m supposed to meet Sue tonight.  I wonder if I should bring some kind of gift?  Isn’t that kind of standard when meeting blogging royalty?  I’m only meeting her because I know where’s she’s going to be and she can’t get away, really I duped her with promises to help her out while her daughter had surgery when in fact there’s not a lot I can do to help.  Hehehehe (said while wringing hands in a malicious manner) it’s all part of my plan to take over the world, one blogger at a time.

Speaking of bloggers, I saw Cheryl and Bythelbs, two of my favorite old blogger friends (that would be friends for a while not that they’re old) last week, it was delightful.  (I also met ShazBraz (who I would link you to but she’s private) and Tawnya who were also delightful.)

I’ve been doing a little work on the house as of late but nothing really worth mentioning.  And since I can’t find my camera I don’t have pictures.

Since we’re not moving afterall, I’ve decided to get some good families with good kids to move into my ward, and more specifically, onto my street.   That’s the item currently included in all Wonderfamily prayers and in permanent position as something to fast for.  It’s not going to be long now.

We took the Wonderkids to the Oquirrh mountain temple open house the other day.  They fought the entire time.  At one point I was threatening to beat them.   By the time we got to the sealing room towards the end of the tour and they gave the little spiel about how that was where families could be sealed together forever I was pretty sure that sounded like a threat rather than a blessing.

And now you’re all caught up.  How’s your summer going?

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 17:57:59

    Tell Sue hi for me and give her my best for her daughter’s surgery, k?

  2. diana banana
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 17:58:09

    you uses of wonder-anything slay me.

    VIVE LE TOUR!!!!

  3. diana banana
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 17:58:24

    that’s your….not you

  4. julie
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 18:07:35

    sounds like my summer with the kids…would love to meet you and have our kids play…

  5. Kristina
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 18:17:39

    Remember how we met and it was awesome? I keep hoping that we will be able to revist that memory someday. Sob.

  6. Sue
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 21:23:57

    It was great to meet you. I’m sure it was quite underwhelming for you, since I was wearing pajama pants and hemming and hawing and breaking hospital furniture all over the place. But it was so nice of you to think of us and to come by. And to bring me pudding and oreos (SO AWESOME). :>

    (My husband snorted when I showed him that you referred to me as “blogging royalty.” And then I hit him.)

  7. Sue
    Jul 08, 2009 @ 21:25:10

    Oh. Wait. Was the pudding supposed to be for my DAUGHTER??!

    Um.

    Oops.

  8. tawnya
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 06:00:39

    It was so good to meet you too!

    And, yuck, about the money fight. Happy we’re self employed right now, but I’m pretty convinced everyday that everyone will stop needing eye exams like…TODAY! Ugh.

  9. Chris Jones
    Jul 09, 2009 @ 11:08:01

    We’re Tour addicts here, as well. Great stuff.

    We did the Oquirrh Temple as well, and we loved it. It was packed. That’s good to see.

  10. madhousewife
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 07:49:12

    Ooooh, you have spreadsheets. WATCH OUT, SUCKAS!

    The good part about not moving is that you won’t have to leave your kitchen. I must say, I’m vicariously relieved about that. However, I hope some good families with kids show up soon.

    I remember when we met and it was AWESOME. (Well, for me, anyway. :P)

  11. Susan M
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 12:54:35

    I saw someone who looked like you yesterday, Alison, and it made me miss you and our Vegas girls.

    That sounds weird.

  12. goldilocks
    Jul 10, 2009 @ 13:27:26

    hey mom I found the cammera!

Leave a Reply

