Howling at the Moon

Was it a full moon last night?

I’m not really a superstitious person.  Part of me would like to be but it just doesn’t work out with enough consistency for me to really get behind it.  (Now if someone who broke a mirror really did have seven years of remarkably bad luck that would be a different story, but I’ve broken mirrors and I don’t think my luck is really much worse than the next gal’s.)  The full moon thing though, that may be a different story.  Really, most of the worst nights at work that I can remember were full moons, the very worst one was a full moon and Friday the 13th.  I’m not kidding.

Regardless, last night was crazy, absolutely insane, but when it finally calmed down (about 4am) and I got a chance to sit down and chat with some of my coworkers, Racheal, my nurse  every Wednesday night, and good friend, said, “I love working with Alison because the crazier it gets the happier she is.”  And you know what?  She was right.

I’m not be superstitious but I am a firm believer in the principle that when it comes down to laugh or cry, you might as well laugh. And up until last night I thought that that was about all there was to it, that was why I always find myself smiling and laughing and call the bad nights the “best night ever” but I realized last night when I was in the ICU getting ready to do life saving surgery, about ten minutes after helping do compressions on a different patient in the OR, that that wasn’t all there was to it, that this is why I do what I do.

Coming to work and taking out appendices all night is fine, it’s important work, it’s work that has to be done and it puts food in my kids’ mouths.  But it doesn’t really get the blood pumping.  Having everything the surgeon needs, even before he knows he needs it, on an elbow pinning is great, but it doesn’t leave you with the sense of accomplishment that having what the surgeon needs before he knows he needs it when cracking a chest does.

Sure, I love a quiet night.  I’ve mentioned before that every once in a while the stars align and I come in to work and do absolutely nothing for twelve hours, and I love that.  Don’t get me wrong I really love that.

But if I can’t do nothing, give me something to do, and make it a big one.

___________

P.S. Both patients lived and, last I heard, were doing very well.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 14:18:18

    Your job stories simply fascinate me.

  2. Kristina
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 15:04:53

    I am the same way at my job! It’s nice to have a quiet night every once in a while, but I like being busy too as it makes things go by faster.

  3. bythelbs
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 15:40:31

    That’s awesome.

  4. Andrea
    Jun 18, 2009 @ 15:47:47

    I completely agree with you–might as well laugh!

  5. Julie
    Jun 19, 2009 @ 07:22:00

    I have talked to so many med profs who say the same thing about full moons. It seems especially true in the Labor & Delivery department.

  6. Shellie
    Jun 20, 2009 @ 14:07:09

    I’m not superstitious, but theres’ something to that full moon and ER’s superstition. As for your last comments, that may be all well and good, but I’d just as soon not be the person giving you that kind of night. 🙂

  7. Jen
    Jun 20, 2009 @ 14:12:18

    I always knew you were one of those girls. You know, the high energy, highly-effective-in-an-emergency type. Somethings are just obvious.

Leave a Reply

