Home Again, Home Again Jiggity Jog

For those of you not in Utah, let me start by explaining that it’s been raining here for the last week and according to the weather app on my iTouch it’s supposed to carry on with that until the end of the week at the earliest.  I can’t even tell you how much I’m loving this weather.  It’s like spring in Virginia, and I’m home again. Ahhh. The grass is green and (at least in the case of my lawn) long and I have little things sprouting all over my flower beds and in the cracks of the sidewalk and I realize that the things I’m listing here don’t sound all that good but really, I love it.  All of it.

I think the first fight Sean and I ever had was over the fact that spring just isn’t spring to me if it’s not green and it’s not green in Utah.

“What do you mean it’s not green, look around (we were driving through the Uintas) it’s totally green.”

I looked around.  There was a greenish cast to the brown, but, well, it wasn’t green.

When I took him to Virginia I think he suddenly understood.

In all honesty, it’s still not Virginia green around here.  But since I can’t get Va, I’ll take it.

Other items of business:

Yes, we are still planning on moving.  Sometime.  The house is still not on the market but I’m really hoping to get it there soon.  Ish.  I’ve had people recommend that we just put it on as it is and we can just carry on with fixing it up while it’s on but I just can’t do it.  At this point the piano is out in the middle of the living room   and there are paint drop cloths all over the place and … it’s just a mess.  And while mess is sort of a constant around here, even I can’t pretend that this kind of mess is acceptable.  So we’re working on it.

As if I don’t have enough to do these days, I’ve been thinking about writing lately.  Mostly really it’s just that Jack keeps showing up in my head.  I’m not sure what to do about that.  I really don’t have time to write, I can barely even find time to blog.
And on that  note, I have stuff to do.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 08:16:09

    I’m a bit over the rain now. I realized that going into work from 4-midnight is suckier when it’s dark when I get there.

  2. Annette
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 08:38:43

    I get the green thing. I had no idea how brown Utah is until I lived in Finland–land of GREEEEEEEN. Then we came back I was stunned. This place is BROWN. But on the other hand, I love the mountains. So it’s a trade off.

  3. LisAway
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 10:52:33

    Oh yeah. Utah never gets as green as Virginia (or Maryland, which I’m more familiar with). It’s so gorgeous over there. Greg always loved going back east when we lived in Utah because it reminded him of Poland.

  4. Melanie J
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 11:46:35

    Yeah, and not to brag, but Louisiana is even greener (albeit swampier) than Virginia, so I totally feel you. The mountains help, though.

  5. E
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 11:48:38

    Green is so beautiful!

    Writing is your brain’s way of escaping things it doesn’t want to deal with. I’ve noticed this pattern with you (mostly because I’ve also noticed it in myself).

  6. E
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 11:50:22

    Oh wait, let me be clear. I do not write. But I do become really productive in other ways when I’m faced with a task I don’t want to complete. All really important emails get sent out at bedtime at my house.

  7. Jami
    Jun 15, 2009 @ 20:29:36

    When I was a kid every August, I’d go from lush, green Ohio to brown dead Northern California. Love the green hate the humidity. Ohio’s humidity would kill me. Ugh!

  8. Trackback: Swing Low « Alison Wonderland

Leave a Reply

