Forever in Mom Jeans

There are some things I don’t mind about getting older, I care a lot less about what people think of me, I’m in charge of making dinner so I don’t have to suffer through meals that I don’t like (in theory at least, this doesn’t always seem to work out), I’m in charge of my own bed time.  But I went on a field trip with the Princess on Tuesday and I gotta tell you, I just don’t know when I got to be so old.

The field trip was a “rewards” activity for all the kids in the school who are consistently well behaved (the Pea did NOT go on this field trip) and it was at a local “fun center” kind of place.  The kids skated, and rode the bumper cars and rode the little rides and I followed along and watched.  Which was fine.  So then the Princess and her two little friends wanted to go on one of those octopus kind of rides, you know, the ones with multiple arms and it lifts and spins around and the individual cars can spin as well.  This used to be my favorite kind of ride.  Through my early teen years I was terrified of actual coasters so when I went to Kings Dominion (the local amusement park) I stuck with the spinney rides.  And I never had a moment’s problem.

Yesterday, as we were waiting in line for the ride one of the Princess’s friends asked me if I was going to be OK on the ride.  Actually, “you’re not going to get sick like my dad does are you?” was what she asked.  And I thought, certainly not, I love these rides.  And surely, I’m not as old and infirm as your father.

So our turn came and we got in our little car and as we were waiting for the gal who was running the ride to come over and lock our door the little girls were spinning the car,  and spinning the car, and spinning the car.  And it became very obvious that if I rode this ride things were not going to end well.

I gave the girls the choice.  I could ride with them and they could NOT spin the car, or I could get out and watch.

And I have to say that the ride didn’t even really look all that fun.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annette
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 18:03:19

    I hate those moments. I used to think my mom was a spoil sport when she’d wait out the “fun” rides. Now I totally get it. Because I’m old too.

  2. Kristina
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 18:40:42

    I cannot do spinning rides at all!

  3. flip flop mama
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 19:00:45

    Spinning rides are torture. I’ve never liked them. I much prefer roller coasters but I’m wondering if my time on those is passing quickly too…what have we turned into?? LOL

  4. Evitafjord
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 20:38:59

    We went to Six Flags last weekend. I think my husband is officially old and I’m headed there fast. We are usually all over the big coasters, but we only rode a few coasters before he was sick. I was okay, but I was also okay with sitting them out. That’s new. He kept thinking I was bummed about it, but I really wasn’t. Mostly I just wanted a nap.

  5. Evitafjord
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 20:40:24

    And thank you for getting that song stuck in my head for the rest of the night. I may never sing it right again. Not that I should ever sing it again, but if I did…

  6. LisAway
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 23:05:58

    I used to love the spinning rides, too. But never if you make them spin a lot. I like the kind that suddenly spin you really fast but for a short time.

    And I am a VERY serious lover of roller coasters. I thought I might be to old, as I hadn’t been on one for over 10 years when I went on one in California Adventure (or whatever that park by Disneyland is called) and I LOVED IT. And I remembered why I love roller coasters so much. And I wished I could go on one 10 times a day every day for the rest of my life.

  7. bythelbs
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 09:41:10

    Best blog post title ever.

    I no longer love the spinning rides either. I think it’s because as adults we have so much that we have to think about and worry about and keep track of in our heads, that having all that stuff spinning and swirling around just makes us nauseous. Kids heads are mostly worry free and empty. So it’s not that we’re OLD so much as, uh, responsible. See?

  8. Jillybean
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 09:44:09

    I’ve always loved roller coasters. The last time we went to Disneyland, I was so excited because some of our kids were finally tall enough and actually willing to ride Space mountain with me.
    When I got off of the ride I actually hurt! My neck was stiff and my back was sore from being banged around like that.
    I love my mom jeans.

  9. Catherine
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 15:25:35

    I get sick on swings…yeah…the ones at the park…those swings. I wouldn’t stand a chance on the amusement park variety.

  10. Melanie J
    Jun 04, 2009 @ 15:56:03

    I can still handle the spinny rides but maybe my days are numbered.

  11. madhousewife
    Jun 05, 2009 @ 08:01:05

    I love Bythelbs’s explanation.

    My husband makes fun of me for being a fuddy-duddy spoilsport (not his exact words–I think he says something more insulting), but I think I didn’t get to be almost-40 so I could suffer through spinny rides that I don’t enjoy. It’s the same reason I sit out ward volleyball night. I didn’t graduate from high school so I could go to gym class. End of issue.

  12. JustRandi
    Jun 05, 2009 @ 20:22:38

    hahaha! I remember the day I decided no more roller coasters for me. It wasn’t too long after the no more spinny rides day.

    I’m old. but there are perks, you know.

  13. Susan M
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 07:30:09

    So glad I’m not alone in this. Rides were my thing, growing up—the scarier, the better. I prided myself on always going on the gnarliest carnival rides.

    About 12 years ago I took the kids to a local carnival. I didn’t go on any rides with them because it costs so much and I wanted them to be able to go on as many as possible. But there was one really scary-looking one that I’d never seen before. It was monstrous. I just had to prove to myself that I could do it. So I made my oldest watch the younger kids and got on it.

    As soon as I was latched in and it was about to go, I noticed a large screw or bolt on the ground below my feet. Wait, was that important? Is my seat supposed to be able to wiggle back and forth like this? Then it started going. All I could think was I was going to go flying off the ride and land dead on the concrete in front of my kids. I was dead certain I was going to die.

    The problem with getting older is you realize how fragile life is. And how things are being held together by rusty bolts and screws and who knows how well maintained these death traps are?

    I still kind of mourn the lost innocence about carnival rides. In addition to the loss of not being able to watch trashy stuff anymore.

  14. bythelbs
    Jun 06, 2009 @ 09:26:22

    LOL, Susan.

Leave a Reply

