On the Other Hand

There’s 104 days of summer vacation and school comes along just to end it.  So the annual problem for our generation is finding a good way to spend it…

So begins the title song to what may just be my favorite show on television.  And it’s a kids show.

I thought after my long, and somewhat angry, dressing down of Calliou I thought ought to point out that there are actually some fantastic kids shows on TV.  I’m not talking about educational shows, I mean, Little Einsteins is great and all but let’s face it I don’t watch TV for the education I get out of it, I watch it for the entertainment.  And Phineas and Ferb is freaking entertaining.

My older kids just finished two weeks off track and unlike usual I  pretty much just let them sit around and watch TV the whole time.  (Yes, I’m a horrible mother, but i just had too much crap that I had to do to have the time necessary to bug them all the time about turning the TV off again and finding something else to do.)  And in that time I got a chance to see or at least hear a lot of childrens’ programming, in fact I think I have the Disney channel’s schedule memorized.  Here’s what I’ve learned.

Zach and Cody: The one on the boat: Every person who’s had anything at all to do with the making of this show should be taken out behind the sound stage and shot.

Zach and Cody: The one in the hotel: Every person, with the exception of Ashley Tisdale, who’s had anything at all to do with the making of this show should be taken out behind the sound stage and shot.

Sunny with a Chance: I find that I quite like Demi Lovato.  The show is pretty meh but whatever.

The Wizards of Waverly Place: I. Love. Selena Gomez.  This girl could make the phone book interesting.  The writing on the show is, of course, horrible, the story lines are hopelessly contrived and the humor is absolutely humorless.  And yet, I’ll sit down to an episode of WOWP with a smile on my face and I’ll even laugh, because Selena Gomez is AMAZING.

As a side note I’ll mention that I find myself actually (sort of) looking forward to the Disney Channel Original Movie Princess Protection Program because it stars Demi Lovato and Selena Gomez.  And so, while I expect it to be stupid and poorly written and flimsy, a la High School Musical, I figure, with the two of them how bad could it be?

Jonas: No.  Just really, no.

Hannah Montana: Not as painful as it used to be.  I can’t figure out if the acting is getting better or if the nerves in my brain are used to the abuse, beacause really, the show sucks.

Phineas and Ferb: So fantastically amazingly good!!!!!  Seriously, who could not love a show that includes lines like “boredom is a thing, up with which, I will not put.”?  I love this show so much that a few weeks ago when it was my turn to be in charge of the activity for FHE we watched Phineas and Ferb.

Switching channels: (We do that occasionally)

iCarly: Very, very stupid.  Also quite entertaining.

Sponge Bob: I’m not a Sponge Bob fan.

Ben Ten: Differs very little from Batman and Spiderman and all the other superhero shows that the Pea watches when he gets the chance, but I have no real objections.

There are more, oh so many more, but those are the top viewed shows at my house.

How about you? Any recommendations?  (All my shows have just aired their season finales, after all, and Burn Notice doesn’t start until June 4th.)  Shows that make you want to stab yourself in the eye?  Teen stars that you love?  Hate?  Just don’t understand?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. diana banana
    May 21, 2009 @ 05:30:28

    i know there is a day that i’ll be sick of the backyardigans, but that day is not very quickly approaching….thank goodness.

    the jonas brothers should also be taken out back and shot….over and over again.
    so should miley.

  2. Annette
    May 21, 2009 @ 06:33:21

    I agree on Fineas and Pherb. I didn’t think I’d like it, but it’s fantastically silly and intelliegent. I kinda like iCarly, but mostly because Sam is such a fun character. And Carly’s brother has his moments. And yes, Selena Gomez is worth watching all by herself.

    The others? I’m with you. Meh. But my girls like Zac and Cody anything. My son’s old enough to watch the first five minutes and announce what the complication and the resolution will be. (Not that they’re at all predictable or anything . . .)

  3. LisAway
    May 21, 2009 @ 07:16:20

    I LOVE IT!! That song made me start calculating a few months ago that in Poland we only get like 80 days or so of summer vacation. Just so you know. That song is strictly American.

    Greg has started watching Phineas and Ferb with the kids after school. We all love it dearly, although the kids don’t get why we’re laughing much of the time.

    My kids know that they are not allowed to watch My Suite Life or whatever it is with Zach and Cody. Same with the one with the son of the president, don’t remember what it’s called. I seriously don’t let them watch it. Way – too – dumb.

    I like Hannah Montanna but was absolutely astounded the first 5 or so times I watched it. Almost like with My Suite Life but with HM I got over it and think it’s funny now (though still dumb, of course).

    So you didn’t mention my personal favorite, or at least it’s right up there with P and F. The Emperor’s New School? Do you like it? If you don’t I can only imagine it would be because the guy bugs you. Other than that it is heelarious. As an extremely sarcastic person, you should really appreciate that one, too.

  4. Janelle
    May 21, 2009 @ 07:16:28

    Phineas to the FERB! Best cartoon on.

    My kids are still Dora/Dragontales/Clifford watchers. Ugh!

    I don’t mind Curious George.

    I think Spongebob is hilarious. My favorite episodes involve plankton though. My husband does not like the kids watching Spongebob.

  5. julie
    May 21, 2009 @ 08:01:55

    I would agree with you about Phin and Ferb. I love that show …I’m also a Ben 10: alien force fan too.

    Hate suite life and jonas…
    loves wizards too.

  6. Melanie J
    May 21, 2009 @ 08:08:01

    Okay, I have to see Phineas and Ferb. I’ve never watched it.

    My little one watches Yo Gabba Gabba (I like it) and my big one watches iCarly and I like that, too. But he watches way more Discovery Channel and I REALLY like those shows.

  7. Flip flop mama
    May 21, 2009 @ 08:27:20

    We only have PBS so my kid watches Super Why, Curious George, Clifford–those types. She’s way into princess movies now though so it’s not always PBS.

  8. madhousewife
    May 21, 2009 @ 12:38:22

    I’ve never seen any of these shows. I didn’t realize there was more than one Zach and Cody. I guess I have seen about five minutes of the one in the hotel–it was while we were on vacation, hey, in a hotel! My daughter has very strong feelings about Zach and Cody, i.e. strong negative feelings. So I actually know about them mostly from hearing about how stupid they are. I’m not sure how my daughter knows so much about them, since we don’t have the Disney channel, and she wasn’t in the room at the hotel when the show was on for five minutes. Well, it’s not true that I’m not sure. Obviously, it’s that darn internet. That’s how she knows everything.

  9. Chas Hathaway
    May 21, 2009 @ 14:19:01

    Hey, I just discovered your blog, and it’s hilarious! I learned about it on Annette Lyon’s blog, and upon reading it, it brightened my day. Thanks for the uplift!

    – Chas
    http://chas.willowrise.com

  10. E
    May 22, 2009 @ 14:50:34

    You know we only have PBS and I don’t love it when my father-in-law puts Sponge Bob on for my kids. But I don’t object too loudly, cause what can it hurt, really?

    But what I really have to say is the Word Girl is awesome!!! You would like it.

    I’ll have to try P&F (on youtube of course)

Leave a Reply

