Rantings, Ravings and Whatever Else Strikes My Fancy

I tell ya, you take a mere two weeks off blogging and suddenly no one come to your blog anymore.  What is that?  Whatever, now I know who my real bloggy friends are.  They’re you!

So I was going to blog about the things you don’t have to try to know that you’re not going to like them but all I could come up with was doing the dishes for the first time in three or four days (stop judging me) and getting right down to the bottom of the sink near the drain and coming across a baby bottle (so you know it had whole milk in it because that’s what you give the baby) that’s still half full (probably it should be half empty here since this is kind of a negative thing but half full sounds, you know, fuller) and based on its position you know that it’s been in the sink since about ten minutes after you finished doing the dishes last time, you know, three or four days ago.  Do you really have to open the bottle to know you’re not going to like it?  Because I didn’t (have to open the bottle to know I wasn’t going to like it, not open the bottle.  I mean I did.  No, I didn’t like it,) I did open the bottle (it was going to have to be done sooner or later anyway) and I’m here to tell you , I didn’t like it.

Sure, I could come up with plenty more things you don’t have to do to know you won’t like.  How about, stepping on a slug in your bare feet? or cleaning puke out of your non air conditioned car in the middle of the summer? or hitting your finger with a hammer? or… but none of those is terribly original.  And that’s what I’m going for here folks, originality.  That’s what keeps ’em coming back.  (Not that they are coming back, as previously mentioned but, whatever.)

But you know what really drives me crazy?  The stupid drive-in.  See, there’s a drive-in really close to my house and we love the drive-in and the kids love the drive-in.  So on Friday night we were going to take the kids to the drive-in.  So Sean got online to see what was playing.  It’s always a double feature at the drive-in.  And you know what was playing? Monsters vs. Aliens and Star Trek.  And we’re thinking  Awesome!  We can watch M v. A with the kids and then they’ll go to sleep and Sean and I can watch Star Trek.  It could almost be like a date!!

Too bad they were playing in the other order.   In fact there were two PG movies playing at the drive-in that night.  They were both the second feature.  So to the drive-in I say Pbbbbt!  You’re stupid and that’s twelve bucks you’re not going to get!

Despite the fact that I’m completely averse to all things out of doors, we’ve decided that the Wonderlands are going to camp.  (Vacations are freaking expensive!)

So after we realized that we were in fact not going to go to the drive-in on Friday which also happened to be after we had told the kids that we were going to go to the drive-in, we decided to make it up to them by camping in the living room.  I considered camping in the backyard but we don’t actually own any sleeping bags as of yet (actually, we own 5 sleeping bags, I bought them on Thursday night. But I didn’t want to pay for shipping so I don’t actualy have any sleeping bags as of yet.) so I went with living room.

So, Iwas on my way home from work and I was going to stop at Costco to get a tent (No, I didn’t have a tent either, it’s part of the story, stop interrupting.) because I had seen a Coleman 8 man tent on their website on Tuesday that I wanted to get and I had wondered, aloud, if it was only available online or if they had some in the store.  And on Wednesday night Jocelyn, one of the lovely women with whom I work, told me that she had been to Costco that very day (Wednesday) and she had not seen that particular tent but she had seen comparable, large, name brand tents in the store for nearly the same price.  So I stopped at Costco (it’s at the end of my street and apparently it’s not the one Jocelyn went to because) they had no comparable large tent.  The best they had was a 4 man tent.  I have four children, that makes six people in my family.  That was not going to do.

So now the kids get no drive-in and no living room camping and I am the best mom ever!!!

However, I did get an air mattress and some candy and Bedtime Stories (from the redbox) and strawberries and whipping cream and ice cream (can you say buying my children’s love?) and all was forgiven.

Whew, I’m all blogged out.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristina
    May 17, 2009 @ 21:19:48

    The last time I went to a drive in, it was a PG movie, and then Sex and the City. Really?!?!

  2. Annette
    May 17, 2009 @ 21:34:09

    Wait–there’s still drive-in theaters? I thought the last one closed down years ago!

    (This is a post where I’m quite glad that we no longer have bottles in our house . . .)

  3. JIllybean
    May 17, 2009 @ 23:05:15

    You were going to take 4 kids to a drive in?
    You are a brave woman. I don’t think I could handle all 4 of my kids together in a parked car. Due to the fact that the car wouldn’t be moving, they would feel the need to remove their seatbelts, and once the seatbelts come off, they are more able to invade each others personal space and fighting would happen.
    You don’t need a tent to camp in the living room. Just get the kitchen chairs out and hang a big blanket over them.

  4. karen
    May 18, 2009 @ 06:39:06

    One of my most favorite memories from when I was a kid was going to the drive-in. We went in our jammies and played on the playground until the movie started. Then we ate popcorn from the gigantic bag my mom made at home. We “slept” in the back of the station wagon while my parents watched the second feature. My first movie was “Bedknobs and Broomsticks”.

  5. bythelbs
    May 18, 2009 @ 07:22:04

    I’m forever discovering sippy cups at the bottom of my sink and ALWAYS find myself thinking, “Why didn’t I rinse this out when I put it in the sink again?”

    Glad you were able to salvage your family fun night.

  6. Mother of the Wild Boys
    May 18, 2009 @ 08:17:24

    I saw my first movie at a drive-in…it was The Last Unicorn. 🙂

  7. E
    May 18, 2009 @ 09:06:41

    Glad you’re back. I’m wondering when the actual camping is going to happen.

  8. Melissa
    May 18, 2009 @ 12:03:00

    Once I found an old milky bottle under my carseat….after the baby was done with bottles. It was to scary – how can you even tell how old that thing is? So it didn’t get opened and went straight to the trash.

    (I also use this method for those cheap faux-rubbermaid containers at the back of the fridge containing who-knows-what-from-who-knows-when-but-does-it-look-hairy-to-you stuff. Which is why I buy the cheap faux-rubbermaid stuff in the first place, because you can’t just throw out your grandma’s 1930’s tupperware bowl that will last another 20 decades.)

  9. madhousewife
    May 18, 2009 @ 15:22:49

    I think the first movie I ever saw at a drive-in was Unidentified Flying Oddball. You are probably too young to remember this movie. In point of fact, you may not even have been born yet. We won’t dwell on that. I have more vivid memories of seeing the following triple feature at a drive-in (when I was much older): An Officer and a Gentleman, Staying Alive and Fame. I saw them with my mother. It was awesome. 😛

  10. madhousewife
    May 18, 2009 @ 15:23:21

    That smiley was not quite sarcastic enough.

  11. flip flop mama
    May 18, 2009 @ 21:03:22

    I love the drive in but that was really lame that they’d put the adult movie first.

  12. LisAway
    May 19, 2009 @ 00:48:06

    Oh how I love the drive-in! I seem to remember trying to stay awake through mom and dad’s boring movie to watch the kid’s movie. Maybe this is something they’ve been doing for years. How dumb. Sounds like you had a fun night after all! There are few things that strawberries and whipped cream and ice cream and candy and air mattresses and Bedtime Stories (whatever redbox is) can’t fix! Nice save.

  13. Dollie
    May 19, 2009 @ 14:52:21

    Oh I love that drive in (assuming you are talking about the one off of redwood). I used to go there when I was little we loved it. Sorry it really doesn’t make sense that they would show the kids feature last hello. I am sorry that would have been a lot of fun.

  14. Mindy
    May 19, 2009 @ 19:38:57

    I have to admit it, I have tossed out a few bottles that got left to too long. When what once was white, now is green, we go green and chuck it all. I guess that isn’t really green, but for me it will work. Love your blog.

Leave a Reply

