A Post About YOU! Oh, No sorry, That’s U.

My very dear bloggy friend bythelbs did a letter post.  And then she asked if we all wanted to do letter posts too and being the sheep that I am I said I did.  So she assigned me a letter.  The letter U to be exact.  And while coming up with ten things I like that start with the letter U may not be the easiest thing I’ve ever done it is, well… Oh enough with the intro already.

Underwear.  Or unders as we call them here in the Wonderland.  Because once one of the Wonderkids is in unders that means that they’re not in diapers anymore.  And that makes us all happy.  (I’ll also include here Underoos.  if I had a scanner I’d insert a great picture that I have of myself Christmas morning of probably, 1982ish, in my Wonder Woman Underoos that I wore daily everywhere I went.  Sadly, I don’t have a scanner so we’re going to move on ok?)

Ukulele.  Actually, I really am a legitimate fan of the ukulele, my dad has one, has had my whole life, and some of my fondest memories of my childhood are of nights that he would get it down and play it.

Oh and here’s a youtube video of a guy playing “while my ukulele gently weeps”.  Because who can resist that? 

Umbrella.  I love the rain.  I grew up in a land of frequent, amazing, violent storms and I always loved them.   Which makes the fact that I live in this rain forsaken desert (except for last week) all the sadder.  I miss my entire summers of “hazy hot and humid with a chance of thundershowers later in the afternoon.”

Urgent.  It may be a little bloodthirsty of me but I love a good emergency at work.  I like the adrenaline rush, I like the feeling that what I’m doing actually makes a difference, I like knowing that I’m doing what I do better than I did even six months ago; and I don’t really get any of that taking out tonsils.

Upside-down.  I like to see things from a different perspective.  Some of you may have seen pictures of me at the top of the Stratosphere in Las Vegas (heck, some of you saw me there in person) and while I was there, this is what I did. I know the two pictures look almost identical but if you look closely (at anything other than me) you’ll see that they’re not.  It’s just that I spent most of my time there in that position and I could have stayed there all day.  It was the whole city from a new angle.  I love that.  (And yes, the little sign next to me does say “Do Not Lean On Glass”  I wasn’t leaning on the glass I was leaning on the frame.  Give me a break will ya?)

Ubiquitous.  Because who doesn’t love Angela Lansbury?

Uniform.  Because who doesn’t love a guy in uniform?

Oh wait…

Underdogs.  I know it’s not PC but I can’t help it,  I grew up in DC, I’ll always be a Redskins fan.

Urban.  I’m a city girl.  I”ve never ridden a horse or touched a cow and I’m not that sad about that.  The smallest town I’ve ever lived in was Provo and I’m gonna be honest, it kinda freaked me out (that may have been more about the fact that it was Provo than the size of the town but be that as it may…) My in-laws, a lot of them, are small town people and I think that’s great.  But I just can’t function properly in a town where the only pizza place is closed at 8:05 on a Saturday night. It’s not that I’m going to order the pizza,  I just like to have the option.

Uh.  I give up.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evitafjord
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 06:27:34

    I was afraid I was going to be the last to do their letter. I mean, I still haven’t done mine (it’s in edit), but if I get it out today or tomorrow, then at least I won’t be the last by A LOT like I thought I was going to be.

    I’m a city girl living in the country and I hate it. I don’t mean just the country like Provo or even Spanish Fork, but like 2 acres, everyone’s dogs, chickens, and even sometimes cows running through my yard, 4-wheelers in the street, the law doesn’t apply to us here kind of country. And it’s Texas. Sad, eh?

  2. Kristina
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 07:08:24

    U is a hard letter! But you did a great job. And I think you should have a contest for your readers about spotting the differences in the pictures, like they do in US Weekly.

  3. robyn
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 08:00:37

    Oh wow, when s’mee wakes up from her fainting spell over her husband being called to be the bishop, she’ll comment on how much she too, loves the ukelele. She has one on her mantle. And she knows how to play it.

    Very good with a hard letter you urban, umbrella, man in uniform loving, unique city dweller!

  4. E
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 08:52:13

    Of course, “the ubiquitous Angela Lansbury.” I’m sure everyone will get that.

  5. flip flop mama
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:40:06

    I love the ukulele too. That video was amazing. I’m just going to keep playing it over and over while I do stuff around the house. Amazing.

    Great list! U was a hard letter!

  6. bythelbs
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 10:49:17

    I can’t believe you skipped udders! Miss got milk? herself!

    Still, an utterly awesome job. You really rose to the challenge, and I applaud you.

  7. madhousewife
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 12:24:39

    Underwear is pretty awesome. Would that more members of my household wore it.

  8. Alison Wonderland
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 13:46:19

    E- no everyone won’t but you did. That was just a special treat for my sisters.

    Flip- I keep playing it over and over too. That guy can seriously shred the ukulele!

    Thelbs- I KNOW!! I realized that I could have used udders when I got into bed last night. How could I have missed that?!

  9. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 15:19:12

    I am a sucker for a guy in uniform…aaaahh. 🙂

  10. Melissa
    Apr 20, 2009 @ 21:36:18

    How about “ulcer?” No happy thoughts about that word? Yeah, me niether.

Leave a Reply

