le Sigh

On Sturday the Baby decided to give Rufus, my laptop, a shower.

I’d like to request a moment of silence for Rufus.

Are you ok now?

Good because we have other matters to discuss.

The death of Rufus means several things, one of which is that I will not be blogging as often.  Often I post while I’m at work but … sniffle… no, I’m fine really, just give me a minute… ok I won’t be able to do that now.  It also means that I won’t be reading blogs as much, due to a) lack of available time (I can’t have breakfast at the family computer) and b) the fact that my blog reader was on my desktop which is now… *waving violently in front of my eyes* … inaccessible.

It also means that I have to put up with the home computer.  Which sucks.

It’s going to be fine.

Luckily the prospect of a brand new toy, remember this, is keeping me from falling into despair.  I was sure I would get it today.  I didn’t.  But I’d like to thank Janelle for the fact that getting the mail today did not reduce me to tears.  I didn’t get this:but I did get these:

Thank you Janelle.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 16:49:50

    Wow, those got there fast. While cookies are no replacement for an Ipod touch, I hope they made your computerless day a little brighter!

  2. Annette
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 17:40:55

    *Sniff.* We’ll miss seeing you as much.

  3. marivic
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 17:57:48

    Darn. I blog surf once a week and usually read multiple posts in one sitting, so I think I’ll definitely notice that I will not have as many posts to read when I’m in your blog. The quality I’m sure will still be A1, just not getting the quantity will be a little different.

  4. Jami
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 18:50:04

    Oh bummer. On both counts.

  5. Jami
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 19:45:26

    But YAY for thin mints!

  6. Kristina
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 20:06:05

    Oh no! That sucks. I will miss you. Sniff.

  7. Mother of the Wild Boys
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 20:27:02

    le sigh. You’ll be missed.

  8. robyn
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 20:58:14

    Oh man. That bites. Baby is going to owe you through high school if it’s any consolation. Possibly even in to college.

    The touch will arrive soon and you’ll be reading blogs like crazy. Eventually you’ll get the keyboard down and begin blogging in small fashion again.

    All is not lost. You’ve got Thin Mints!!!!

  9. LisAway
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 22:48:20

    But you didn’t tell us your plan of how you’re going to get a NEW laptop reeeeally soon so you can get back to blogging regularly. Oops. You must have forgotten.

    😦 (Please eat three thin mints for me)

  10. Jen
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 23:57:32

    Thin Mints. Just think of what the world could accomplish if they used them as an international peace tool.

    And that stinks. I order you to get it replaced ASAP.

  11. Susan M
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 07:37:26

    Oh man! That sucks!

  12. madhousewife
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 11:20:44

    Augh! AUGH! AUUUGHHH!!!

    I tried to have a moment of silence, but I couldn’t stop screaming for you. Sorry. 😦

    A shower! GAH!!!

    Thin Mints are good, though.

  13. annie valentine
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 21:03:38

    This totally sucks.

  14. JIllybean
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 22:47:12

    Hurry, put your laptop in a big bag of rice until the rice absorbs all the water, it’s supposed to take a week to dry out an iPod shuffle, so it will probably take a bit longer for a whole computer. Maybe a year of two?
    I’m not sure if this really works. It didn’t work with the iPod, however, after sitting in my son’s sock drawer for several months the iPod turned on and seemed to be working fine until a week later when he lost it.

    Hopefully the thin mints helped distract you from the trauma of losing your computer.

  15. bythelbs
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 10:49:12

    I’m so very sad now. Anyone want to join me in a get AlisonWonderland a new laptop benefit?

  16. robyn
    Apr 01, 2009 @ 19:20:44

    bythelbs I’d love to help! If you think of something let me know!

  17. Natalie Hensley
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 14:31:51

    Wow. So much to comment on. Where do I start?

    #1. I’m sorry for your loss.

    #2. Rufus was a great name. I now feel inspired to name my computer. Hmm…

    #3. Thin mints are glorious things. I’m all about the samoas though.

  18. Melanie J
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 15:29:24

    So your laptop dying is bad. But Thin Mints can make almost anything better. Almost. My brother eats them frozen. Super yum.

Leave a Reply

