More Alternative Lifestyle Choices

Where is your cell phone?

Who was the last person you talked to on it?

Who was the last person you texted?

See, you probably knew the answers to all of those questions.  I don’t know the answers to any of them.

Ok, that’s not true.  I do know where it is.  It’s in the bottom of my bag and it’s dead.  But I have no idea who the last person I talked to on it was, heck I don’t even know when that was, it may have been as long as two weeks ago.  And I don’t text.

Recently I won a cell phone. (Yeah, I know it was three months ago, that’s recent in my world.)  And not just any cell phone, it’s a cell phone and a planner and a, I don’t even know.  And I really thought about setting it up.  But I think I’ve decided that taking that cell phone on means choosing a lifestyle that I’m not sure I’m prepared to live.

I do think about it sometimes.  When I try to catch Sean before he leaves work to get him to pick something up at the store on his way home and I miss him I think if he had a cell phone with him I’d still be able to get him and I guess that would be convenient.  And there have been times when I’ve been shopping and wondered if we were in fact out of peanut butter and if I had a cell phone with me I could just call home and find out.

But I’ve decided that I just don’t think being a slave to a little electronic device is worth that small extra convenience.

Now, all you cell phoners are probably thinking that you’re not slaves to your phones.  And you’re probably even right. (I sincerely hope that you are.)  But you know what I’m talking about.  You’ve seen those girls who can not go anywhere or do anything without their phone.  Those girls who immediately check their phones for messages if something crazy happened and they did make it all the way to the restroom without their digital friend.  Those girls who will interrupt anyone no matter where they are or what’s going on to take a phone call or shoot off a text.

I get pestered enough by my kids, I don’t need to buy something (and then pay an additional monthly fee) to pester me.

___________________________________________________________

Disclaimer:  I wrote this post about a week ago, you know, back when I was young and idealistic.  And then (as previously mentioned) I decided to by an iTouch.  It hasn’t arrived yet so at the moment I can still claim to be above the influences of the small technological devices that run so many people’s lives but, well, I fear that that freedom is short lived.  I predict that within an hour of having my new toy I will be completely hooked.  I take comfort in the fact that I still won’t be paying a monthly fee.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. robyn
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:11:23

    Yes. I love my cell phone. Not because it’s a phone though. In my best Mr. Bean voice “oh, it’s much more than a phone!” Tonight I was marveling at the fact that I no longer have floaties – little pieces of paper with notes on them – to remind me of all the things I need to do or buy or places I need to go. I have a shopping list on my phone, as well as a calendar, text messaging capabilities and even a flashlight! I was born in an age where I’m able to enjoy this stuff and I’m going to. Not a slave at all, I’m swimming in the deep end and I like it.

    What is cool is that you can choose not to participate and be just as happy. But wait til you get your hands on it!

  2. LisAway
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 01:36:13

    I use my cell phone ONLY as a regular phone (and to make those grocery shopping calls, that happens regularly). Oh, and as my alarm clock and for reminders (like Dr. appointment tomorrow at 9). And when they’re bored the kids sometimes play games on it.

    NO SLAVE (as you said). But I know that I use it so much less than most people.

  3. Annette
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 04:21:45

    I’m not a texter either. I’ll send one to my husband if I need him to know something and he’s in a meeting, but those are few and far between. For me, the cell phone is just a nice security measure to have–when the car broke down, I was able to get help. That kind of thing. But I know plenty of people who are so attached to their devices it’s like a drug. My sister has a Blackberry, and she lovingly refers to it as her “Crack-berry.”

  4. Evitafjord
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 05:25:09

    You know what irritates me? When people get perturbed because they can’t reach me on my cell phone. (except my husband, he gets perturbed because he gets worried and that’s ahhh, sweet). But we kind of live in the middle of nowhere and it doesn’t even ring AT MY HOUSE most of the time, so I think those people need to get over themselves and remember just 5 or 6 years ago when they’d just have to wait until I got home. Besides, it has caller ID and maybe I just didn’t want to talk. Or maybe it’s lost again. Or maybe I forgot to turn it back to audible after church. Or maybe it’s in the bottomless pit of my purse and it doesn’t ring loud enough to be heard over the monkeys.

    I do like to text, but only my hub. I got used to being able to call him any time and now I can’t since he’s teaching, so I like being able to text him. Otherwise I forget the stuff by the time he gets home.

  5. cheryl
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 06:42:00

    I hate texting. The only time I use it is in emergencies (and, of course, what warrants an emergency is case by case…). I also don’t like cell phones, and again, my cell phone is for emergencies. That’s about it. I try to keep it charged so if I get in a car wreck (knock on wood) or the battery in the van dies again (knock on more wood), then I can call someone to help me.

    Like Evitafjord, I don’t like it when people can get a hold of me at all times and in all places. In fact, very few people even have my cell phone number because I’m home most of the time, anyway –they can call me at home, you know?

  6. Julie
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:05:58

    I love my phone, I love texting, I love knowing when I get an email, I love love love my phone. I don’t share my number with a lot of people, but it’s starting to get out there. I love that my babysitter & I can text while she’s walking home from school, so by the time she gets home she knows she’s going to babysit.

    Stanton gets really bugged when I can’t hear my phone, so I make sure (usually) to have it where I can hear it and turned up.

    I will say, though, that I have good etiquette with it. Real people come first unless I know who’s calling or texting (ie: Stanton). I don’t have it on at movies, church, etc. And I don’t go into conniptions if I’ve forgotten it.

    That being said, however, I love the digital age and I am very much on the wagon with it.

  7. Susan M
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:14:39

    I don’t have a cell phone. I have a phone phobia.

  8. Flip flop mama
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:15:10

    I’m with Julie. I love my iPhone and I dont mind saying it. In fact I’m commenting on your blog right now using it and that’s just awesome to me. I love checking my email and my Google Reader without using the big computer. That said I do use it a litle too much but I also know how to use it with courtesy.

  9. bythelbs
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:25:55

    I love my cell phone, but I don’t text. And I don’t really live on my phone either. I use it for all those reasons you said it might be nice to have—sending my husband on errands and checking to see if we are indeed out of peanut butter. I first got it when my severely asthmatic kid started school and I wanted to be sure the school always had a way of getting in touch with me. I can’t tell you how many times it’s come in handy.

  10. Kristina
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 07:48:56

    I am a slave to my phone. We don’t even have a land line. I’ve left my cell phone at work before, and I literally thought I was going to have a seizure. Oh, and I get emails on my phone, so I’m always checking that too.

  11. julie
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 08:28:31

    we only just got a cell phone again and we only use it for calls only. No texting for us.

  12. Janelle
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 08:30:16

    I don’t like people having access to me when I leave home. That is why I leave home. So I completely forget I have my phone with me and never listen to it ringing because my cell phone is for me to dial out, not take incoming calls. Unless I’m involved in something important – like I’m selling a home.

    But….. I do love having the internet everywhere I go. If I’m bored or waiting in line at the DMV I’ll just check my blog or do some google reading. That part of having a phone around is awesome.

    Also, I don’t like it when people choose not to have a home phone and hand out their cell phone number as their only number. It feels weird because I feel like I can never have an in depth conversation with them because of static or their in their car.

  13. s'mee
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 09:32:15

    I am the consummate Jewish Mother and therefor love the umbilical cord this has become in my life. I do not receive a call from my offspring often, however when they do phone I want to get it. The same with friends or someone from the church who may need me. A Jewish Mother who is very needie, perhaps.

    Texting? LOVE it. Texting allows me to contact Thor when he’s in a meeting or if he’s in his office, which is like being surrounded by ten feet of cement in a bunker somewhere in the Ozarks…he gets no coverage there, but he can text.

    I don’t have a iphone, but I do have the itouch, which I am using like a Jewish Mother, who is needy and has a great personal secretary at my personal disposal day and night. Tasks, calendar, lists, numbers, yada yada yada, it goes in there and it’s little and light weight, and now I am a Jewish Mother who is needy and wants my secretary to be tiny and fit into my pocket.

    Oy. Now I’m all farklempt! It’s all just too too much! : )

  14. Jen
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 15:10:58

    I made it to 2005 without a cell phone – as in, didn’t even own one between the two of us.

    And now – I get really irritated at my ONE friend who doesn’t have one. Although I can still survive without one – and rarely text – it is so stinkin’ convenient! And you may as well give in to the convenience, because Vader is right – resistance is futile.

  15. zstitches
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 23:20:04

    My phone is so old my brothers call it “retro” and its battery is always dead and it’s IMPOSSIBLE to text on it (really; my husband didn’t believe me so he tried one time and finally declared it impossible, just like I’d told him) and I really need to get a new one. I do love its security and convenience; it’s especially a HUGE lifesaver on vacations if my husband and I get separated from each other, etc.

    BUT, there’s a woman in my ward who comes to the ward book group, and both times I’ve attended her husband was sending her texts updating the score of the soccer game her son was at. About every 2-3 minutes her phone would chime and she would check it, through the WHOLE hour-and-a-half of book group. I was pretty astounded by that. Check the score when you get home, or just skip the book group and go to the soccer game, fer cryin’ out loud.

  16. marivic
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 18:27:21

    🙂 I like my cell phone, and it’s one of those thingy that has a button for each individual letter to make texting easier. I text only because it’s the only way I can get my kids to respond to my phone call. And when I’m in meetings at work and I’m bored as heck, it’s nice to secretly text someone across the desk to say funny things about the meeting leader 🙂 I like the instant e-connection but I think I’ll draw the line on twittering.

Leave a Reply

